Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Frampton, Peter: FCA! 35 Tour-An Evening With Peter Frampton (Blu-ray)

Drawing performances from two shows on Peter Frampton's world tour in celebration of the 35th Anniversary of Frampton Comes Alive (Milwaukee's Pabst Theater & New York's Beacon Theater), this fantastic Blu-ray is proof positive that thirty five years later, Mr. Frampton can still deliver the goods. Sure, he's long lost lost the flowing red locks and boyish grin of his youth, but Frampton's vocals are still intact and his guitar skills even better than they were back in the glory years. This 26 song set, which again takes from both shows, features not only the complete Frampton Comes Alive album, but also a selection of songs from throughout Peter's career and a few cover tunes.

Along with Frampton on this tour were second guitarist Adam Lester, drummer Dan Wojciechowski, keyboard player Rob Arthur, and bassist Stanley Sheldon. The band do a fine job of delivering the entire Frampton Comes Alive album, including seminal songs "Somethin's Happening", "Doobie Wah", "Lines On My Face", and of course the hits "Baby I Love Your Way", "Show Me the Way", and the talk box epic "Do You Feel Like We Do". Anyone who has followed the recent career of Peter Frampton is probably aware that his beloved black Gibson Les Paul guitar was stolen a few years back, and luckily enough he was able to get it back and it's featured in this performance along with his other Les Paul, a vintage cherry sunburst model. Make no mistake about it, Frampton is a guitar player with formidable talents; his solos here are fierce and commanding, mixed with plenty of rock firepower, jazz finesse, and blues emotion. It's nice to hear some of the excellent instrumentals from his recent album Fingerprints, and for all the 'really old fans' he even dips into his Humble Pie days with scorching renditions of "I Don't Need No Doctor" and "Four Day Creep".

The sound and picture quality on this high-definition release is superb, and though it might not be the best visual presentation I've seen on a concert Blu-ray, it's not too far from it. In short, FCA! 35 Tour-An Evening With Peter Frampton is not only a celebration of the classic Frampton Comes Alive album, but also just a fun, intimate evening with one of our great musical treasures as he and his band share some of his strongest songs with us. Another winner from Eagle Rock!

Track Listing
1. Somethin's Happening
2. Doobie Wah
3. Lines On My Face
4. Show Me the Way
5. It's A Plain Shame
6. Wind of Change
7. Penny For Your Thoughts
8. All I Wanna Be (Is By Your Side)
9. Baby, I Love Your Way
10. (I Wanna) Go to the Sun
11. (I'll Give You) Money
12. Shine On
13. Jumpin' Jack Flash
14. Do You Feel Like We Do
15. Asleep at the Wheel
16. Restraint
17. Float
18. Boot It Up
19. Double Nickels
20. Vaudeville Nanna And The Banjolele
21. Road to the Sun
22. I Don't Need No Doctor
23. Black Hole Sun
24. Four Day Creep
25. Off the Hook
26. While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Added: December 15th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1876
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by