Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Magenta: Seven

Seven is the sophomore release from Magenta, the band led by former Cyan member Rob Reed. Combining influences from 70's & 80's prog legends like Yes, Genesis, and Renaissance, Magenta have crafted an enjoyable platter here of symphonic progressive rock. Littered with stellar keyboard work, stinging guitar lines, and the emotional vocals of Christina, the band runs through seven lengthy songs based on the seven deadly sins.

It's hard not to like a band that starts off an album with a song like "Gluttony", which features a- capella vocals reminiscant of 90125 era Yes, the broodiness of early period Genesis, and guitar work from Chris Fry that evokes Steve Howe at his most creative. "Envy" is a much more passionate piece, and one that is highlighted by the soaring vocals of Christina and the gentle piano of Reed. This song will instantly remind you of vintage Renaissance, and although Christina is no Annie Haslam, she really proves herself on this one. A similar, yet much more symphonic feel can be heard on "Lust", while "Greed" once again brings the Yes and Genesis comparisons to the forefront. "Anger" is anything but an angry rocker, instead a tender and juicy bit of melancholy featuring string synths, piano, and a tasty guitar solo. It's also the shortest piece on the CD at just over five minutes. I hear bits of Gentle Giant mixed with Yes on the complex & symphonic "Pride", while the closing number "Sloth" is much more atmospheric and moody, and reminds me of some of the music that The Gathering has been doing the last few years.

Clocking in at over 75 minutes, you really get your money's worth here. While not the most original recording you will hear this year, it still scratches that 70's prog itch that so many of us have. Strong female vocals, vintage sounding keys, searing guitars, solid rhythm section, and long tunes with an interesting lyrical story behind them, how can you go wrong!

Track Listing
1) Gluttony (12:05)
2) Envy (9:51)
3) Lust (12:26)
4) Greed (13:52)
5) Anger (5:08)
6) Pride (12:49
7) Sloth (10:04)

Total Time

Added: May 22nd 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Magenta's Website
Hits: 15004
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by