Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mantric Muse: Mantric Muse

The band is based in Copenhagen and has existed since 1996. The band members are: Magnus Hannibal: guitar and synths, Ola Eriksson: synth, samples and keys, Søren Hvilsby: drums with Michael Kroglund: bass. They don't just play music but they have a Philosophy (note the capital letter) which is, according to their website; "The music emerges from jam-sessions recorded at the rehearsal space. The recordings are then listened through, analysed, dissected, and arranged."

OK, so that's more a description of how the band creates their music than an actual philosophy but what can't be denied is (and here comes the what looks like faint praise) is how interesting and intricate Mantric Muse the band and Mantric Muse the album actually are. They are often lumped in reviews I've seen with Ozric Tentacles which is fair enough but they are well worthy of investigating on their own terms. Butt is well and truly kicked on tracks such as "Cinope" and "Sfunx" yet there's a whole lot of other stuff going on as well. This should be well up any reader of Sea of Tranquility's street as it is to coin a phrase which the kids use, "proper music."

Track Listing:
1. Nanoid 7:28
2. Sindbad Søfareren 7:52
3. Cinope 7:42
4. Sfunx 10:27
5. Azur 7:24
6. Gnoxience 4:34
7. Deep Sea Cheops 10:19

Added: December 6th 2012
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2020
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by