Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Frühstück: Quiet

Frühstück is a Polish melodic/modern rock band made up of Martijn Krale, who's vocals sound like a great mix of a younger Bono from U2 and Jan-Henrik Ohme, of the Norwegian group Gazpacho; Wojtek Karel, on bass; Tomek Kuzbik, on drums; and Marcin Karel on guitars. They formed in 1997, and have produced 2 albums and an EP since the release of their debut album, Mine in 2000.

The lyrics on this album follow a Christian inspiration, but without preaching. It is a reflective album coming from the heart of the members of the band. The music is powerful, with strong drums, heavy anchoring bass, and blistering guitars. The combination makes for an excellent mix of outreach and entertainment.

There are so many reminders of U2's uplifting and triumphant War, without sounding like a copy. The powerful vocals matched with gut pounding bass and drums are matched well with the lifting guitars that take you higher. It will take you back if you listen carefully.

The cover art with the angel is inspiring and fits the title perfectly.

"Pig" bursts open the seam and lifts this album from the opening. "Twister of Life" brings back memories of both "Seconds" and "Like a Song" off U2's War. "Louder than Words" has excellent lyrics teamed with some of the best bass and slow but essential electric guitar on the album. "Quiet" is a powder keg of bass and drums. "Kid" is wonderful, full of powerful Christian images and lyrics. "Song of Deliverance" and "Angel" are the best songs on the album.

Yah, they covered Led Zeppelin. And which song? "That's the Way". It doesn't sound anything like the original. This version is louder and full of more drums and bass. The melody is changed and it has lost its quality of soft kindness and meaning. But I respect them for taking a new look at a classic. And in the end they do slow things down for the final words.

A great new band to look for in the future. But first get this album to see how far they have progressed and grown.

Track Listing:

1. Pig
2. Twister of Life
3. BC
4. Louder than Words
5. Quiet
6. Follow
7. Kid
8. Song of Deliverance
9. Grow Up
10. Nothing is Impossible
11. Angel
12. All We Need
13. That's the Way
14. Hope

Added: November 13th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2001
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by