Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DaPonte, G.: Lucky Days and Lucky Numbers

Mr. DaPonte has been some sort of musical jack of all trades in the L.A. area for quite some time now. He's been playing with various acts; setting up record labels as well as holding the engineering helm. He had a solo album, Let It All Come Down, released back in 2008. This latest release showcases quite a few contributions from various musicians. To name but a few: Taras Prodaniuk (Lucinda Williams), Danny McGough (Tom Waits), Eric Heywood (The Pretenders); steel guitars and vibraphone works from Charlie Peterson and guest vocals by Claire Holley and Syd Straw.

This 14 track 60 minutes + output is a nice collection of solid rock tunes with a definite southern vibe. Mr. DaPonte wrote most of the material and produced the album. He sings, plays guitar (acoustic / electric), bouzouki, Hammond Organ as well as a strange instrument called Wurtlizer, which is actually simply a brand of organ. The compositions are catchy, well written; with good guitar work and the melodiousness created by the variety of instruments make it very pleasant to the ears. This music is reminiscent to bands like The Eagles, America and the southern rock scene in general. He does not create anything new as such, but he does not try to copy any of those famous acts. At times the music has a bit of the Stones' country edge; much to my liking. This is casual, un-pretentious music and it is very guitar driven, as good rock music should be. My only little negative point has to be for the vocals. I found them a bit un-emotional and lacking conviction. Amongst my favorite tracks you'll find: "Nowhere" (nice happy/catchy country folk rock tune); "The Long Years" (calmer /acoustic); "Someway to Fall" (Eagles-like). My overall favorite is the Eagles and acoustic happy & catchy composition found on track # 12, "Barstool Boys".

Lucky Days and Lucky Numbers will have a very positive impact on those of you having a southern-rock soul.

Track listing:
1- Nowhere
2- Where Did We Go
3- Shadowland
4- Southbound
5- The Long Years
6- Hatchet
7- Things Fall Apart
8- Beautiful Wasteland
9- Lucky Day and Lucky Numbers
10- Someway To Fall
11- I Know
12- Barstool Boys
13- Revelator
14- This Is How It Ends

Added: November 12th 2012
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2100
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by