Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Corrosion of Conformity: Eye for an Eye [reissue]

Corrosion of Conformity, or COC, are probably best known for their brand of sludge- and stoner-informed alternative metal, but they actually started out as a hardcore punk band, and journeyed through crossover thrash before they finally found the style that they have explored consistently since the mid 1990s. Their debut album Eye for an Eye from 1984 captures the band at the very early stages in their transition to becoming a metal band and is best characterized as a hardcore punk album with a few thrashy elements now and then.

If you think this sounds interesting, then this is your lucky year, because the album is reissued this November on Candlelight Records. But be warned, this is, as mentioned, all out hardcore punk and bears very little, if any similarity, with the music that the band is known for nowadays. Most of the tracks are uptempo and feature simple, and rather genre-typical, riffage. The average song length is 1:30 minutes, with some songs clocking it at 2 minutes, and other songs being micro-songs. Thus, the music is intense and compact, and with the raw production and, well, the level of musicianship of COC back then, it is also very chaotic. That being said, the drums are rather dynamic and rich in pretty awesome fills, and the bass has an organic bobbing sound which suits the overall sound of the album.

One thing that makes Eye for an Eye interesting is that it is the only album which features Eric Eycke on vocals... fortunately. While there is a certain charm to Eycke's singing, his voice is weak and not really special. I say this knowing that he has a large number of fans worldwide who prefer the early Eycke-fronted COC-material to their post-1985 releases, but personally, I think that his singing is the major turn-off factor of this album for my money. The reissue of Eye for an Eye also features the Six Songs With mike Singing-EP from 1985, and this makes Eycke look really bad, as Mike Dean's vocals have much more edge and much more aggression to them. Slightly similar to Blaine Cook's voice, Mike Dean's singing is full of attitude and power and suits the aggressive music much better. The six Dean-fronted tracks have been given a slight overhaul and most of them are now more crossover-thrashy than the versions on Eye for an Eye, and the performance is much tighter.

Sloppy ahd punky, Eye for an Eye is not for everyone, and I suspect that maybe fans of more recent COC-material will actually not like it, but, if you are into dirty 1980s hardcore punk, of if you are just interested in experiencing this early incarnation of COC, then, by all means, check out this massive reissue.

1. Tell Me
2. Minds Are Controlled
3. Indifferent
4. Broken Will
5. Rabid Dogs
6. L.S.
7. RedneKKK
8. Coexist
9. Excluded
10. Dark Thoughts
11. Poison Planet
12. What?
13. Negative Outlook
14. Positive Outlook
15. No Drunk
16. College Town
17. Not Safe
18. Eye for an Eye
19. Nothing's Gonna Change
20. Green Manalishi (Fleetwood Mac cover)
21. Eye for an Eye
22. Center of the World
23. Citizen
24. Not for Me
25. What?
26. Negative Outlook

Added: November 3rd 2012
Reviewer: Kim Jensen
Related Link: COC official website
Hits: 1702
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by