Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eluveitie: The Early Years

To celebrate the 10 year anniversary of Swiss pagan/folk metal act Eluveitie, the band & their label, Nuclear Blast, have released The Early Years, which includes their full VÍn EP, completely re-recorded, and a remixed version of their Spirit album. For most fans, it's the inclusion of the re-recorded EP here that will be of most interest, as the band have taken advantage of the latest recording technologies to make this release sound spectacular. Also, it features the current line-up of the band, which includes Merlin Sutter (Drums), Chrigel Glanzmann (Vocals, Mandola & Mandolin, Tin & Low Whistles, Bagpipes, Bodhrŗn), Anna Murphy (Hurdygurdy, Vocals, Flute), Meri Tadic ( Fiddle, Vocals), Ivo Henzi (Guitars), Simeon Koch (Guitars), Patrick Kistler (Tin & Low Whistles, Bagpipe), and Kay Brem (Bass).

What's the difference you might ask? Well, as I mentioned, these new recordings sound big and powerful, thanks to the advances in technology. The band sounds great on them, though perhaps those who love the original EP might miss the rawness that was apparent on VÍn. Also, Eluveitie uses more Hurdygurdy now than back then, and less flute, so there's that difference, and Anna Murphy, who is a big part of the bands sound these days, has more of a vocal presence as you would expect. "Druid" though sounds as brutal and potent as ever, so no complaints there. As a curiosity factor, this is a fun listen so you can compare the 'before and now', but depending on how much you cherish the original EP will determine your mileage here. As for the remixed Spirit album, to these ears I don't hear a tremendous amount of difference to the original, but it's a very solid and enjoyable folk metal album no matter how you slice it. Plenty of crushing riffs and ferocious death growls on tunes like " Uis Elveti" and "Your Gaulish War", and the way they mix in the acoustic folks instruments is so well done. If you are someone who jumped on board with this band on their 2008 Nuclear Blast debut Slania, chances are you might not have heard this crushing affair from 2006, so coupled with the re-recorded VÍn, this is a worthwhile set from a band that helped kick start the recent folk metal craze.

Track Listing
01. Verja Urit An Bitus (Re-Recorded)
02. Uis Elveti (Re-Recorded)
03. Oro (Re-Recorded)
04. Lament (Re-Recorded)
05. Druid (Re-Recorded)
06. Jezaig (Re-Recorded)
07. Spirit
08. Uis Elveti
09. Your Gaulish War
10. Of Fire Wind & Wisdom
11. Aidu
12. The Song Of Life
13. Tegernako
14. Siraxta
15. The Dance Of Victory
16. The Endless Knot
17. An Dro

Added: October 28th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1876
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by