Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tirill: Tales from Tranquil August Gardens

Tirill is a return to traditional Norwegian folk music that uses wonderful visual sounds from classical themes of melancholy and Tirill's angelic voice to paint moods and reflections of the natural beauty surrounding their homeland. They use these mental images painted with flute, cello, sounds of the ocean, bouzouki, guitar, accordion, recorders, keyboards, and other more classical instruments to enthrall listeners with magical music.

This relaxing fireside music is set perfectly in the late summer and early autumn. The lyrics in "Dressed in Beauty", one of the best tracks on the album, sums up the power and experience well, "I spend my day by the lake. I gaze at the trees, reflections in the water, and my heart untroubled and free. My head on a mound and my feet in the water. But my mind somehow in the blue. Happy and sad". Yah, that's it. Perfect for late summer or fall.

"Heavy Heaves" with its deep dark moods, the sounds of the ocean, flute, and excellent percussion is another stand - out.

"Vendela" is full of emotion and eerie vocals matched well with equally eerie keys.

"Golds of Morning", well, with a name like that, you know there will be flute. And they add some excellent strings and keys with well-placed percussion to make it perfect. The acoustic and instrumental bonus tracks are like the cream on the pumpkin pie. Just perfect.

This album is a "close your eyes and dream or remember" experience type of album. Take some time out of a busy day, or relax during the weekend with this moody and emotional dreamscape and benefit from the time spent.

Track Listing:

1. "Nights are Colder"
2. "Don't Dare to Leave You"
3. "Winter Roses"
4. "June's Flowers"
5. "Dressed in Beauty"
6. "Heavy Heaves"
7. "Vendela"
8. "Golds of Morning"
9. "It Was Blue"
10. "Ruby"
11. "When You Sleep"
Bonus Tracks
12. "It Was Blue - Instrumental"
13. "Signs" (Originally released on White Willow's "Ignis Fatuus")
14. "June's Flowers (Parenthesis "Hole in the Soul" Remix)

Added: October 27th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1956
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by