Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sassi, Yossi: Melting Clocks

While many will recognize the name Yossi Sassi but for those not so familiar Yossi is the lead guitarist and founding member of Israel's particularly popular Orphaned Land, and Melting Chocks is Yossi's solo creation. Yossi is a diverse talent able to perform with multiple instruments including those traditional ones which he does so effectively on Melting Clocks, a quality varied album that is so very good. Like what we hear from Orphaned Land Yossi has incorporated ethnic music on this recording but this isn't another Orphaned Land album, and there are far less vocals as Melting Chocks is predominantly an instrumental album relying on that great musicianship. If anything this album would appeal to a wider audience as the material is more easily digestible, less heavy, quite melodic and features some cool grooves at times. Also Yossi is not the only talented musician featured on this recording, as renowned guitarist Marty Friedman whom I, like so many others, are long time fans of his playing, Marty is also known for his eastern influences and he performs on the song "The Routine".

"Drive" brings thoughts of guitarist Joe Satriani but this is no Satriani tune, I was actually reminded of Joe's guitar sound elsewhere and that's no bad thing. Yossi has assembled twelve very tasteful songs both upbeat and other milder tunes as his many cultural influences are heard throughout Melting Chocks. From what I understand the theme of this recording is it follows the daily routine one goes through, hence why "Drive" commences with the sounds of an alarm clock and the subsequent song titles. While we wait with much anticipation for the follow up to Orphaned Land's wonderful The Never Ending Way of ORWarrior, Yossi's solo debut shows why his musical abilities are such a fabulous asset for that band to have.

Track List:
1. Drive
2. Fields Of Sunrise
3. The Calling : Rush Hour
4. Numbers' World
5. Melting Thoughts
6. Another Day In The Office
7. Ain't Good Enough
8. The Routine
9. Sahara Afternoon
10. Sunset
11. Simple Things
12. Melting Clocks

Added: October 27th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1789
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by