Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Helstar: 30 Years OF Hel (DVD)

A few weeks back I reviewed the CD version of metal band Helstar's latest 30 Years OF Hel, a live release recorded in Houston, Texas and celebrating 30 years of Helstar, now it's the DVD's turn. 30 Years OF Hel is a release fans will be eager to obtain, especially as it includes so many of those memorable heavy Helstar numbers captured live. Actually this release isn't lacking in material as there are twenty songs featured with their mix of technical power/thrash and speed metal.

As expected it is quite a different experience viewing Helstar's performance than just listening to the recording as the band rips through their various tracks. Despatching those most technical of metallic tunes with ease and exhibiting loads of enthusiasm for the many fans that are present. Motivated by an energetic showing from Drummer Mikey Lewis as he unloads with a serious workout on his kit, guitarist's Larry Barragan and Rob Trevino make for a seriously potent duo as they shred it up and bass player Jerry Abarca also gives an animated performance.

Lead vocalist James Rivera makes for an ominous presence with that wide ranging vocal style as the singer easily replicates their studio recordings. This isn't one of those mega productions just ample lighting effects and a strong showing from a band with so many years of experience performing their songs and doing them justice.

Now I have experienced both the CD and DVD which are available as a complete package, 30 Years OF Hel is a great release to mark 30 years of the metal veterans known as Helstar.

Track list:
1. Angels Fall To Hell
2. Toward The Unknown
3. Suicidal Nightmare
4. The King Is Dead
5. Burning Star
6. To Sleep Per Chance To Scream
7. The Plague Called Man
8. Evil Reign
9. Monarch Of Bloodshed
10. Winds Of War
11. Good Day To Die
12. Wicked Disposition
13. Pandemonium
14. Bitter End
15. Harker's Tale
16. Angel Of Death
17. Baptized In Blood
18. Alma Negra
19. The King Of Hell
20. Run With The Pack

Added: October 20th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2022
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by