Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sophicide: Perdition of the Sublime

Meet Adam Laszlo, a German multi-instrumentalist/vocalist who also goes under the moniker of one-man technical death metal band Sophicide. To help complete his vision, Laszlo recruited Sebastian Bracht and the duo have just released their debut album on Willowtip Records titled Perdition of the Sublime. This is pretty blistering stuff, brutal and ferocious yet highly technical at the same time, complete with complex guitar riffery, manic blast beats, and venemous, gutteral growls, just what the doctor ordered for fans of Obscura, Nile, Spawn of Possession, Psycroptic, The Faceless, Decrepit Birth, Brain Drill, and Decapitated.

From the opening blast of "The Art of Atrocity" it's full speed ahead and there's barely a moment to breathe throughout Perdition of the Sublime. The title track is one of the most lethal cuts here, chock full of crushing riffs, blazing intricate lead guitar fills, and evil growls, dripping with just enough keyboards to give it that extra special eerie touch. Laszlo adds some majestic acoustic guitars and haunting keys to the opening of "Of Lust And Vengeance", an otherwise brutal slice of relentless tech-death that just screams 'epic'. If you relish dizzying technicality, look no further than the blazing " Execration" and the rampaging "Lafayette's Deception", while the band throw in some nifty prog & fusion passages on the adventurous "Blood For Honour", a must hear for shredders of all ages.

Hard to believe that Perdition of the Sublime is basically the work of two men, but that's just one of the many reasons why this is such a winner for Adam Laszlo and his little project called Sophicide. Hopefully he and Bracht can flesh out the line-up and take this group on the road and to the next level. Recommended.

Track Listing
01. The Art Of Atrocity
02. Within Darkness
03. Perdition Of The Sublime
04. Of Lust And Vengeance
05. Execration
06. Blood For Honour
07. Freedom Of Mind
08. Folie Deux
09. Lafayette's Deception
10. Dawn Of A New Age
11. The Essence Of Warfare

Added: October 17th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Willowtip Records
Hits: 1897
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by