Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Katana: Storms of War

Sweden's Katana are back with their latest album, titled Storms of War, another solid slab of early '80s styled heavy metal for all the NWOBHM fans out there. Comprised of Patrik Essén- Guitars, Tobias Karlsson- Guitars, Johan Bernspćng- Vocals, Susanna Salminen- Bass, and Anders Persson- Drums, Katana opt for the galloping rhythms, classic riffs, blazing solos, and high pitched vocals of yesteryear. Most of the tracks here are pretty enjoyable vintage styled metal songs, from the driving "Wrath of the Emerald Witch" to the raging riff fest of "The Samurai Returns" and the majestic epic "In the Land of the Sun". The one drawback however are the often times overbearing vocals of Bernspćng, whose high pitched wailing lacks diversity and can be quite grating after a while. If he varied up his delivery more it would make Katana that much more of a potent metal machine, but either way Storms of War is solid enough and worth seeking out for fans of vintage style heavy metal.

Track Listing
1. Reaper
2. Wrath of the Emerald Witch
3. Khubilai Khan
4. The Samurai Returns
5. City on the Edge of Forever
6. No Surrender
7. In the Land of the Sun
8. The Gambit
9. Modesty Blaise
10. The Wisdoms of Emond's Field

Added: October 16th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Listenable Records
Hits: 2131
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by