Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Absolva: Flames Of Justice

Formed by the Fury UK pairing of shredding guitarist / vocalist Chris Appleton and powerhouse drummer Martin Mcnee, Absolva finds the duo expanding to a four man line-up with the addition of bassist Dan Bate and second guitarist Tom Atkinson. Let off the leash from the limitations of a three piece, Appleton has firmly grasped the opportunity to work alongside another guitarist and Flames of Justice succeeds in capturing his love of some of the definitive twin guitar attacks of the past thirty odd years think Priest, Maiden, Lizzy, Helloween and Accept for starters. Appleton and Atkinson simply tear it up from the explosive opening call to arms of the title track to the dynamic fretwork of the superb closing 'Empires'.

Of course, great guitar work is all well and good but you have to have the song writing skills to match and fortunately Absolva consistently deliver the goods across the albums eleven tracks. The lyrics fit within a modern context and the pacing of structure of 'Code Red', 'Only When It's Over' and 'Breathe' ensure that the end result is a trio of strong and defining melodic metal anthems. Hidden amongst the metallic onslaught is the acoustic instrumental 'State of Grace' that serves as a brief respite before the second half of the album bursts out of the blocks with the speed metal fury of 'From Beyond The Light'. Listening to this album you are taken back to a time when metal ruled the airwaves and it is reassuring to know that as long as bands like Absolva are around metal's future is in very safe hands.

Twenty first century metal of the very highest order Flames Of Justice has the quality to launch Absolva on their way to the very forefront of the British metal scene and beyond. In a word, stunning.

Track List:-
1. Flames Of Justice
2. Hundred Years
3. Code Red
4. It Is What It Is
5. Breathe
6. State Of Grace
7. From Beyond The Light
8. Free
9. Love To Hate
10. Only When It's Over
11. Empires

Added: October 14th 2012
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2767
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by