Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Karcius: The First Day

Montreal's prog art band Karcius have recorded a somewhat sublime album that really burrows its way into your psyche with its eloquent, moody and powerful soundstages. In all honesty I didn't find the album immediate, for me it was a grower, which has blossomed into a storming album. For those prepared to put the time in, something I strongly recommend you do, you will have an album in your hands that will constantly reward you, an album that you'll find does have longevity.

Emotionally the band seriously know how to pin-prick your emotions; musically the band call in at several ports offering melancholy, from the simple opening piano piece , The First Day or the more rockier numbers like Number 10 and when I say rockier, I mean they tear the roof off with the power and precision. Even the tribal percussive work on the instrumental The Word confirms that there is something special about this album as it segues into aforementioned Number 10 with its mournful tones and killer keyboard and dynamic guitar work.

The band isn't afraid to experiment with varying approaches, something that has stood Karcius in good stead. In doing so they have found the right balance that becomes more infectious the more you listen. Another thing that struck me about The First Day as an album is thus, the more I listened the more I discovered new elements, whether that be the lyrical nuances or how the instrumentation complements its self, being perfectly aligned, which is the dynamic that makes this album what it is; and if that isn't enough the use of the Fender Rhodes, Hammond B3 and Auclair's vocals will seal the deal, trust me.

In truth you can hear influences in their music, but that is not something I am going to dwell on as The First Day, their fourth release, is an album that can speak for itself and hold its head up high. The quartet that is Karcius has created something rather special here and have a bright future if they keep recording albums as good as this.

Track List:
1. The First Day
2. Hypnotic
3. Rest My Head
4. The Word
5. Number 10
6. Why
7. Brother
8. Djoko
9. Water

Added: October 13th 2012
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 3735
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by