Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Monuments: Gnosis

As the 'djent' movement is clearly in full swing, another new band has appeared on the scene ready and willing to fight for the crown, and they are England's Monuments. Their debut for Century Media, Gnosis, has been much hyped, talked about, and anticipated for a few years now after Jon Browne, former guitarist of Fellsilent, put the band together and transitioned through a few line-up changes before finally settling things down and getting Gnosis recorded. For many metal fans, Gnosis will be well worth the wait.

Monuments eventually setttled on vocalist Matt Rose, and he seems to fit the bill quite well here. His maniacal screams and bellows on tracks like "Doxa", "Degenerate", and "97% Static" perfectly mingle with the staccatto riffing and acrobatic drum work that populate the arrangements. The spectre of Meshuggah looms large here, but then again, all bands that play in this new djent style owe basically everything to the Swedish masters. However, Monuments do some really clever things melodically speaking, and use clean vocals far more effectively than other bands like Periphery and TesseracT, making for some truly memorable and fun tracks even though much of this is often brutal and quite complex. "The Uncollective" is a great example of how well they combine all these elements to make a tune that sticks in your head yet stimulates your senses. "Regenerate" even has some spacey atmosphere to go along with the prog-metal complexity for a nice touch.

This band is clearly onto something, and my guess is over the next few releases they are sure to create something really spectacular. Gnosis is very strong and shows a band that is ready to explode. Personally, I'd have them tone down the occasional hardcore element (which quite frankly makes them sound like every other metalcore band out there) and focus even more on the progressive side of things, as that is where their talent seems to lie. Otherwise, a release well worth checking out.

Track Listing
1. Admit Defeat
2. Degenerate
3. Doxa
4. The Uncollective
5. Blue Sky Thinking
6. Memoirs
7. 97% Static
8. Empty Vessels Make The Most Noise
9. Regenerate
10. Denial

Added: October 13th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1583
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

İ 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content İ Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by