Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Monaco, Tony: Celebration

Tony Monaco specializes in the Hammond B3 and is a longtime collaborator with legendary jazz guitarist Pat Martino. After a six year hiatus Monaco is back with the massive two disc set Celebration. This twenty-four song collection features almost as many musicians and is indeed a celebration. Monaco is a master, playing with fire, soul and passion.

Monaco is a versatile and dynamic player. Whether delving into rhythms and blues as in the infectious "You Rock My World" featuring fine piano from Asako Itoh or gospel inspired jazz such as the organ drenched "Unresolved" and the uplifting "Just Give Thanks and Praise" where Monaco's B3 ripples in the background behind Ken Fowser's rousing sax solo, Monaco's music is full of passion.

If its rhythm and blues you are after the second disc should really light a fire. Bluesy slow burners include the soulful "Ashleen" and the fiery "Takin' My Time" where Monaco's huge B3 chords and lightning fast chops prove he is one of the best Hammond players around.

My only complaint is I start to lose some interest as there is so much music here. Still, Celebration is an album that any keyboard player or jazz aficionado should love to get their hands on. Celebration earns a very respectable 3.5 stars.

Track listing:
Disc One
1. Daddy Oh (3:54)
2. Aglio e Olio (2012) (4:29)
3. Indonesian Nights (5:54)
4. Happy Sergio (7:25)
5. Unresolved (3:41)
6. You Rock My World (5:54)
7. Just Give Thanks and Praise (4:29)
8. Bull Years (5:42)
9. Ninety Five (4:34)
10. It's Been So Nice To Be With You (4:01)
11. I'll Remember Jimmy (2012) (3:37)
12. Called Love (6:08)
13. To Be Continued (2:49)

Disc Two
1. Acid Wash (7:07)
2. Backward Shack (6:01)
3. Ya Bay BEE (3:56)
4. Ashleen (5:40)
5. Katarina's Prayer (5:57)
6. Pasta Faggioli (6:25)
7. Takin' My Time (9:37)
8. Blues for T (6:03)
9. Rudy and the Fox (3:57)
10. Slow Down Sagg (12:26)
Bonus Track
11. Just Give Thanks and Praise (Instrumental) (4:23)

Added: October 10th 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1293
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by