Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Katsionis, Bob: Imaginary Force

A couple years ago, in a review of Greek multi-instrumentalist Bob Katsionis' debut instrumental CD Turn of My Century, I called the then-25-year-old phenom "a cool geek with exceptional musical talent" and was "frightened by how much better this guy could get in 10 years."

Well, a mere two years later, the talent hidden within Katsionis' fingers, which play both keyboards and seven-string guitars, scares the bejeezus out of me. This dude is a monster, and Imaginary Force is the kind of instrumental album that will hit you like an unseen force, its musical prowess leaving you exhilarated and exhausted. Think Planet X meets Joe Satriani, with Yngwie Malmsteen and Vitalij Kuprij fighting for a piece of the action. But what else would you expect from a guy who prints the phrase, "Speed Kills; Warp Speed Rules," on the inside tray liner of his CD? With the backing of a drummer and a bassist, Katsionis welds his trio with the finesse of a veteran player which he is, having been making music since age 10.

While the first nine songs on Imaginary Force stand on their own and convey a range of musical emotions, all stacked with melody (despite reaching warp speed a few times), it is the album's final 15 minutes, dubbed "The Trilogy of Lust," that make this album such a blissful listening experience for any sophisticated headbanger. The three-part scorcher begins with Katsionis' idea of how a porn soundtrack should sound complete with moans and squeals ("St. Pervert"), segues into a majestic movement that tastefully incorporates elements of famous Greek composers Vangelis and Yanni ("Tsifteteli-Overture 1821)" and concludes with a no-holds-barred, neoclassical-saturated keyboard piece Katsionis wrote while under the influence of a popular alcoholic beverage in Greece that became the title of the song ("Ouzo!").


Track Listing:
1) The Imaginary Force (4:10)
2) March of the Spirits (3:57)
3) Sing For the Day (4:32)
4) Galaxy (3:08)
5) Sudden Death (3:12)
6) Bird's Eye View (3:27)
7) Is It Me Or the Weather? (4:16)
8) All My Naked Hopes (4:05)
9) Separated (4:42)
The Trilogy of Lust
10) St. Pervert (5:05)
11) Tsifteteli-Overture 1821 (5:41)
12) Ouzo! (3:51)
Total Time: 49:41

Added: June 20th 2004
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Lion Music
Hits: 3014
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by