Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

AxeWound: Vultures

The thought at the sight of possibly thousands of kids running around shopping centers with AXEWOUND blazoned on t-shirts across the world must have brought much merriment to the dressing room. Essentially a blatant slang term for a woman's pleasure parts, the band itself treads a well paved path of metal fury, energized by elements of hardcore.

The term 'super group' has been battered about with much regularity of late and Axewound fall firmly in that category. Liam Cormier (Cancer Bats), Matt Tuck (Bullet For My Valentine), Mike Kingswood (Glamour Of The Kill), Jason Bowld (Pitchshifter), Joe Copcutt (Rise To Remain) collectively embrace all their influences to become an unstoppable face palm of power. With Liam covering vocal duties and Matt contributing sporadically on the album, first track 'Vultures' is a metal thundering behemoth. The albums relentless pace with have you fighting for air, 'Post Apocalyptic Party' stomps on the chest, ensuring your chance of recovery is brought to a halt. 'Cold' could easily have been a Bullet For My Valentine cast off, its catchy chorus dragging you in as does 'Exochrist'. The albums only 'soft' moment is brought in the form of the piano intro to 'Collide' which soon explodes in a torrent of Liam led fury. With the momentum of a runaway shopping trolley being ridden by an elephant, 'Vultures is a sonic triumph; rounding things off with the thundering beat of 'Church Of Nothing' complete with guttural interludes from Matt Tuck you finally have the chance to take a breath. Many said it would sound like a casserole of craziness with all the different influences, you know what? The boys have only gone and pulled it off. Collaboration worthy of a second album? I think so, thank the Lord they didn't call themselves cu….!

Track List:-
1 Vultures
2 Post Apocalyptic Party
3 Victim Of The System
4 Cold
5 Burn Alive
6 Exorchrist
7 Collide
8 Destroy
9 Blood Money And Lies
10 Church Of Nothing

Added: October 6th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1813
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by