Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Motorhead: The World Is Ours- Vol 2: Anyplace Crazy as Anywhere Else (CD / DVD)

With any Motorhead live release you can always be pretty sure what you are going to get and The World Is Ours Volume 2 is no exception. Full throttle dirty rock and roll executed as only the engine room of Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee can. This release is available as both a stand alone 2CD format and the triple disc 2CD/ DVD pack with the performances taking in 2011 festival slots at Wacken Open Air, the UK's Sonisphere at Knebworth and Brazil's Rock In Rio. Yes there is plenty of track duplication from Volume 1 and yes there have been arguably a few too many Motorhead live releases over the years but that still does not make this latest one any more less essential or rewarding than the many that have gone before.

The DVD offers the trademark Motorhead audio visual experience with Lemmy's stetson, sideburns and flowing black hair very much at the forefront and in simple terms songs like "Iron Fist", "Going To Brazil", "Killed By Death" and "Ace of Spades" can never lose their appeal. Of the live sets then Wacken is probably the best the German audiences have amongst the bands most loyal and dedicated followers and this proves to be no exception. Motorhead undertake their customary UK tour In November and Lemmy is already promising a new studio album in 2013 long may they continue!

Track List:-
Wacken Open Air August 8, 2011 in Wacken, Germany
1. 'Iron Fist'
2. 'Stay Clean'
3. 'Get Back In Line'
4. 'Metropolis'
5. 'Over the Top'
6. 'Rock Out'
7. 'One Night Stand'
8. 'The Thousand Names of God'
9. 'I Know How to Die'
10. 'The Chase Is Better Than the Catch'
11. 'In the Name of Tragedy'
12. 'Just 'Cos You Got the Power'
13. 'Going to Brazil'
14. 'Killed by Death'
15. 'Bomber'
16. 'Ace of Spades'
17. 'Overkill'
Sonisphere July 10, 2011 at Knebworth House in Hertfordshire
1. 'Iron Fist'
2. 'I Know How to Die'
3. 'In the Name of Tragedy'
4. 'Killed by Death'
5. 'Ace of Spades'
6. 'Overkill'
Rock In Rio September 25, 211 in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
1. 'Stay Clean'
2. 'Over the Top'
3. 'The Chase Is Better Than the Catch'
4. 'Going to Brazil'
5. 'Killed by Death'

Added: December 17th 2012
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2397
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Motorhead: The World Is Ours- Vol 2: Anyplace Crazy as Anywhere Else (CD / DVD)
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2012-12-17 15:11:33
My Score:

"We Are Motorhead, and We Play Rock 'n' Roll!"

So proclaims Lemmy, for perhaps the thousandth time in a live setting, at the start of this jam-packed live set titled The World Is Ours- Vol 2: Anyplace Crazy as Anywhere Else. Complete with 2 CDs, a DVD & Blue-ray, covering the bands sets at Wacken Open Air 2011, Sonisphere 2011, and Rock in Rio 2011, this gives a great snapshot of some of the high profile events the mighty Motorhead played last year.

You have to give the band credit, as long as their career has been and no matter the line-up, these guys are always damn solid. Lemmy's voice might be slipping a bit (he sounds a tad ragged at Wacken here), but the power & energy of a Motorhead performance is intact on each of these gigs.Wacken is given the majority of the time in this set, and it's a virtual 'greatest hits' (for a band with no hits that is!) featuring classics like "Iron Fist", "Metropolis", "Stay Clean", "Killed By Death", "Bomber", "Ace of Spades", "Overkill", and a wide selection of strong songs that the band have delivered over the last 20 years, including "I Know How to Die", "Rock Out", and "In the Name of Tragedy".

If you have a Blu-ray player and home theater system, this one is sure to deliver the goods. Crystal clear video and crankin' sound allows the viewer to feel like they are in the front row or the pit itself, and the DVD is also of high quality for those who don't have the latest technology. 2 CDs to bring along in the car or blast outside at your next keg party also come in the package. Though Motorhead have released quite a few live albums and videos in recent years, this is a real solid one as well that any loyal fan will want to add to their collection.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by