Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Helstar: 30 Years of Hel

Helstar are one seriously good metal band. Their origins go back to the early eighties, a time when so many other long running American metal groups were just getting started. Helstar's music is a blend of technical power metal, the heavier variety that is, sometimes not that distant from thrash/speed metal.

Helstar are masters of their metal craft sporting a killer lineup and you can't get any more proof than with this explosive new live release. 30 years Of Hel is a double CD/DVD celebrating 30 years of Helstar recorded in Houston, Texas earlier this year which is also where the band started out. Covering so much of their enticing metal, twenty tracks in all from over that substantial period. Helstar's music certainly hasn't got lighter over the years; they started out heavy and the intensity level just increased.

"Angels Fall To Hell" is first up being also the opening track from their latest studio release Glory To Chaos, making for a great energetic number and Helstar is on fire. Of course it's not just about the newer material, as classic Helstar songs like "Burning Star", "Harker's Tale", "Baptized In Blood" and "The King Is Dead" also sound so great in this live setting. Helstar have done a commendable job with their performances and how they have captured this live performance. Vocalist James Riveria has such a distinctive and commanding voice and shows no problems delivering those memorable lyrics coupled with that explosive musicianship Helstar have always given us.

I can't wait to get hold of the DVD but the CD is a great teaser and adding the visuals will most surely make for a top metal release. I urge anyone who hasn't heard Helstar to give them a go, unlike some of those releases from the bigger names in metal Helstar haven't disappointed me yet staying true to the heavy metal their fans adore. 30 Years of Hel is a great starting place for new listeners and must have collector for the Helstar fans.

Track Listing
01. Angels Fall To Hell
02. Toward The Unknown
03. Suicidal Nightmare
04. The King Is Dead
05. Burning Star
06. To Sleep Per Chance To Scream
07. The Plague Called Man
08. Evil Reign
09. Monarch Of Bloodshed

01. Winds Of War
02. Good Day To Die
03. Wicked Disposition
04. Pandemonium
05. Bitter End
06. Harker's Tale
07. Angel Of Death
08. Baptized In Blood
09. Alma Negra
10. The King Of Hell
11. Run With The Pack

Added: September 14th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1993
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by