Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Friedman, Marty: Bad D.N.A./ Future Addict/ Loudspeaker (reissues)

Former Megadeth and Cacophony shredder and now resident of Japan, Marty Friedman, has had 3 of his solo discs re-released; 2007's Loudspeaker, 2008's Future Addict and 2010's Bad D.N.A. Each record offers its own flavor and all 3 featuring the awesome playing that we have come to know and expect. Friedman has lived in Japan since 2003 and has become intertwined with the Japanese music scene and is a popular TV personality there, as well. A far cry from the guy that torched stages as a member of Megadeth, but the guitar fury is still intact.

Bad D.N.A.: This disc, first released in 2010, is interestingly eclectic. Full of guitar pyro and very catchy amidst a vast background of electronica,Marty Friedman is still able to derive a rocking vibe all while creating what sounds like a soundtrack to a sinister video game. No Metal or Megadeth type stuff on this one, but there is some killer playing. This all instrumental CD is a heartpounding ride, for sure.

Future Addict: Used as a way to introduce his musical history to the mainstream of Japan,Future Addict consists of re-worked and re-recorded versions of songs from his bands; Deuce, Hawaii,Cacophony and Megadeth. There are also 4 original songs included and this album includes special appearances from the legendary bassist, Billy Sheehan, ex-Nevermore guitarist Jeff Loomis, and drummer of Steve Vai's band,Jeremy Colson. There are some very interesting re-do's on this disc, and this disc features mostly vocals. Megadeth classics; "Tornado ofSouls" and "The Killing Road" get the most drastic overhauls. If you weren't paying very close attention, you'd most likely even miss that they were Megadeth songs….until the solo kicks in! Friedman pays close attention to nail both of the classic solos on these songs. The guitar solo in "Tornado of Souls" has always been my favorite of his and the solo is exact, right down to that great tone from the original recording.

Loudspeaker : Originally released in the USA in 2007, Loudspeaker is filled with special guests,such as; Steve Vai, Billy Sheehan, John Petrucci (Dream Theater), Keyboard wiz, Jens Johansson (Yngwie Malmsteen/Stratovarius) and drummer Jeremy Colson (Steve Vai/Billy Idol). This is a heavy instrumental record with some sick playing all over 11 tracks. Technical prowess is overflowing but the melodic touch that is a constant in everything Marty Friedman puts out is not missing at all. There is an over abundance of energy on this record that just can'tbe overlooked and is somewhat infectious. This is a fast, metallic record that guitar fans will have a hard time putting down.

All and all, Marty Friedman was a guitar monster, "back in the day"and his chops are even sicker now. All 3 CD's show a different side to who Marty Friedman is and was and all 3 CD's occupy some fierce guitar playing and some tasty melodic songwriting. Progressive, heavy, melodic and awe inspiring is what you will take away from this trio of re-releases. MartyFriedman is alive and well and DAMN can he play!

Track Listings
Bad D.N.A.
1. Specimen
2. Bad D.N.A
3. Weapons Of Ecstasy
4. Hatejoke
5. Glorious Accident
6. Random Star
7. Picture
8. Battle Scars
9. School Spirit Delinquent
10. Exorcism Parade
11. Time To Say Goodbye

Future Addict
1. Barbie (instrumental)
2. Simple Mystery
3. Tornado Of Souls
4. Burn The Ground
5. Where My Fortune Lies
6. Breadline
7. The Pit And The Pendulum
8. The Killing Road
9. Static Rain
10. Secret Of The Stars
11. Massive
12. Tears Of An Angel (instrumental)

1. Elixir (feat. Billy Sheehan)
2. Street Demon
3. Black Orchid (feat. John Petrucci)
4. Paradise Express
5. Sekai Ni Hitotsudake No Hana
6. Glycerine Flesh
7. Stigmata Addiction
8. Viper (feat. Steve Vai)
9. Static Rain
10. Coloreas Mi Vida
11. Devil Take Tomorrow

Added: September 12th 2012
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2481
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by