Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Matuchniak, Peter: Uncover Me

I first heard the music of Peter Matuchniak when listening to Decadent Light from Evolve IX. I really liked that album so I was looking forward to listening to his latest endeavor Uncover Me. Right from the start this album struck a chord. The melodies are outstanding, the playing is tight and most importantly the songs are excellent. There is not a bad one in the bunch so the fast forward button on your CD player need not be used.

Joining Matuchniak (guitars, keyboards, bass, vocals) are Natalie Azerad (vocals), Ted Zahn (vocals), Jimmy Keegan (drums), Rick Meadows (bass), Conor Jonson (sax) and David Gilman (flute). There are also six guest musicians offering their services ensuring a full, rich sounding production.

The music is melodic prog and pop with lots of jazzy overtones, helped along by the stellar guitar work of Matuchniak. Listening to his guitar sing is a joy to these ears invoking emotions only the best are able to achieve. It is not an overly complex album but there is lots of substance here lurking in the background. I have listened to this album a number of times and it keeps on getting better and better. Influences include The Beatles, 10cc and Steely Dan. If that sparks your interest you cannot go wrong with Uncover Me.

The album's first track "Fallen Ash (Landscape Burning P1)"starts off with an irresistible guitar groove that can't help but reel you in. Add to that awesome female background vocals reminiscent of Floyd's "Great Gig In The Sky" and we have five minutes of pure bliss. In the pretty title track with its lilting medieval/minstrel sound, acoustic Tull comes to mind. "Running Back To You" is more rocking showcasing the drum talent of Jimmy Keegan and invoking memories of Blondie with Deborah Harry inspired vocals. The short "Lionheart" is very English sounding prog tinged folk while "Across the Pond " has a nice jazz rock groove. The album's longest song "Rising Sun (Landscape Burning P2)" is the sequel to the first track revisiting similar melodies but with a decided melancholic edge. The flute playing of David Gilman accents the song flawlessly.

Petre Matuchniak's Uncover Me has completely won over this reviewer. Progressive fans and jazz fans alike should be very happy indeed. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Falling Ash (Landscape Burning P1) (5:23)
2. Running Blind (5:06)
3. Uncover Me (1:52)
4. Down In New Orleans (6:28)
5. Running Back To You (4:16)
6. London Vibe (2:25)
7. Lionheart Betrayed (2:18)
8. Sandcastles (0:54)
9. Across the Pond (4:53)
10. Rising Sun (Landscape Burning P2) (8:08)
11. Hippy in the Rain (3:12)

Added: September 7th 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2220
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by