Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Molly Hatchet: 25th Anniversary Best of Re-Recorded

I'm sure many of you are wondering why the hell a Molly Hatchet review has been insterted on this website. Hell, I'm kind of wondering myself. There are probably also a few of you who thought that this 80's Southern Rock group had long since packed it up. The interesting thing about Molly Hatchet, and a few other Southern Rock bands, especially Blackfoot and Lynyrd Skynyrd, is that they always seemd to appeal to the metal crowd as well as the mainstream rock audience. Hatchet's three guitar line-up packed a mean punch, and their songs mixed melodic lead harmonies, complex and crunchy rhythms, and raunchy attitude.

The last few years has seen a few 70's & 80's bands who have had major line-up changes re-recording classic songs with their current roster. In Molly Hatchet's case, there are no original members! Yes, you heard that right. Back in 1985, guitarist Bobby Ingram (who was an old friend of original singer Danny Joe Brown) came in to the fold to replace original member Dave Hlubek, and currently runs the show, now that all the other original members have left, or passed away. So, how does this version of Molly Hatchet compare? Well, all the songs that have been re-recorded here are almost flawless renditions of the original versions. Current singer Phil McCormack sounds virtually identical to Danny Joe Brown, and although the band now contains only two guitar players, there's still plenty of 6 string mania going on. I do find that some of the harmony leads by Brown and Russ Maxwell are not quite as tasty as the original crew of Hlubek, Duane Roland, and Steve Holland, but they make up for it with a heavier rhythm crunch. Still, it's hard for me to call this Molly Hatchet, as the group comes across more like a top-notch tribute band. My advice, stick with the originals of these songs, and seek out some of the bands more recent studio recordings for a snippet of what they can do.

Track Listing
1) Flirtin' With Disaster
2) Bounty Hunter
3) Gator Country
4) Whisky Man
5) Fall of the Peacemakers
6) Satisfied Man
7) Beatin' the Odds
8) One Man's Pleasure
9) Big Apple
10) The Creeper
11) Jukin' City
12) Goodbye to Love
13) Bloody Reunion
14) 25th Anniversary Song
15) Epitaph/Memories/The Great Beyond
16) Dreams I'll Never See
17) Boogie No More

Added: April 21st 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Molly Hatchet Website
Hits: 3746
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by