Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

All Hail the Yeti: All Hail the Yeti

All Hail the Yeti bring a form of sludge/hardcore/Southern Rock/alternative to their self titled debut for AFM Records. Comprised of Nick Diltz (Bass), Skylar Feigel (Drums), Brian Harrah (Guitars), Craw NeQuent (Guitars), and Connor Garritty (Vocals), All Hail the Yeti have come up with a fun debut here that mixes numerous styles, many of which are all too familiar, but it's a rocking listen nontheless.

"When the Sky Falls" and "Deep Creek" have a sludgy, metalcore feel to them, but the band throws in some Southern Rock styled guitar licks in spots that wouldn't sound out of place on a Lynyrd Skynyrd or Blackfoot album. Garritty's vocals fluctuate between generic sounding 'core' bellows and more tradition melodic hard rock clean vocals, and in many cases he mixes it up during each song, unless of course it happens to be the sludge ridden thumper "Suicide Woods", where he screams and shouts like a man possessed. On "After the Great Fire" the singer's throaty growl surrounds some solid clean vocals on the chorus (a real catchy, yet heavy tune by the way), and the pulverizing "I Am Wendigod" (GREAT title !!) is like a long lost track from the great Down, complete with huge riffs and a ton of groove. Those beefy Down/Crowbard styled riffs again come back on "Axe Murder Hollow" and the slow, doomy dirge that is "Ruby Ridge (Every Knee Shall Bow)", offering up some crushing sludge on the back end of the CD.

Though there's definitely some filler on All Hail the Yeti, a good half of the songs here kick some serious ass, making it a worthwhile purchase for those that can't get enough Southern styled sludge. This looks like a band that we'll all have to keep our eyes on very closely in the months and years ahead.

Track Listing
01. Deep Creek - 3:50
02. When the Sky Falls - 4:19
03. Suicide Woods - 3:07
04. The Weak and Wounded (Prelude to Flames) - 1:30
05. After the Great Fire - 5:34
06. Bloodguilt - 2:50
07. The Art of Mourning - 4:43
08. I Am Wendigod - 3:44
09. Axe Murder Hollow - 5:25
10. Ruby Ridge (Every Knee Shall Bow) - 3:56
11. Judas Cradle - 20:59

Added: August 28th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MYSpace Page
Hits: 1835
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by