Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rafael, Joel: America Come Home

"America Come Home", is California songwriter Joel Rafael's eighth album. The album provides 12 tracks of Rafael's unique brand of American Power Folk. "Dance Around My Atom Fire," is a Woody Guthrie-Joel Rafael co-write, which opens the album and sets the tone of social consciousness that permeates Rafael's writing. "America Come Home", the album's title track performed with David Crosby and Graham Nash, is a wonderful request to restore the American Dream" (, 2012).

Performing on the album: Joel Rafael, on vocals and acoustic guitar; Mark Goldenberg, on electric guitar and Hammond B-3 organ; Steve Di Stanislao, on drums; and Beth Fitchet Wood, on backing vocals.

Rafael has an early Dylanesque vocal as he opens this album with atomic protest firepower on the track "Dance Around My Atomic Fire". "America Come Home" is the album's highlight with Crosby and Nash adding their legendary consciousness….and golden harmonies.

"Dharma Bums" is full of svelte electric guitar playing, mixed well with good vocals and lyrics. "Go Tell The Savior" is a great road song, full of lyrics and conversation about the years on the road travelling to gigs…and a return "home".

"Runaway Girl" has the feel and sound of an early Tom Petty track, making it another highlight off the album.

"Meanwhile the Rain" is full of some of the best acoustic and electric guitar on the album, supported well with Goldenberg's well placed Hammond B-3 organ. Wood's backing vocals really help lift "I Can't Feel Your Love".

"Singing In The Streets" is a good story about the past and the ups and downs of busking.

"Goldmine" is about appreciating what you have, and avoiding the worry over what you don't.

The closer, "Racing And Chasing The Sun, as with much of the album, brings back memories of some of Gary Louris straight – ahead solid folk rock music that bares the sole and delivers the artist's heart and consciousness to his audience.

Track Listing:

1. Dance Around My Atom Fire
2. America Come Home
3. Dharma Bums
4. Go Tell The Savior
5. Indian Summer
6. Runaway Girl
7. Meanwhile The Rain
8. I Can't Feel Your Love
9. Within Your Graces
10. Singing In The Streets
11. Goldmine
12. Racing And Chasing The Sun

Added: August 26th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 4640
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by