Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Insidiae: Where Demons Dare

Where Demons Dare is the debut album from Dutch metallers Insidiae (which translates into ambush or treachery in Latin) and much though the album title would suggest that we are in traditional Saxon, early NWOBHM territory, this sextet actually wallow in the pool marked symphonic thrash, with obligatory growls. Nothing wrong with that I hear you gargle, and you'd be right and while Insidiae have a long way still to go to really make a strong statement, there are a few signs on Where Eagles Dare that with time, it may come good for them. To be fair a stronger production would undoubtedly help to broaden out the guitar sound on WDD, although a less up front vocal and less cardboard box drum sound wouldn't hurt either.

Putting the sound to one side, the songs themselves are solid and substantial, but then they are also derivative and safe. Not bad mind, just exactly what you expect and not quite inspiring enough to make you give the album a second glance. Strident riffs (or they would be if the production let them), galloping kick drum and soaring synths abound across all nine tracks (and the short, scene setting introduction) leaving you a little confused as to which song is which, and while all of the musicians in Insidiae are talented, in the end it is vocalist Harm-Jan Broekema who makes the strongest impression, with his great mix of soulful crooning, punching growls and scintillating clean vocals catching the ear time and time again.

A couple of the songs do manage to shine through the gloomy, claustrophobic sound, with "Major Arcana" and "Folie a Plusieurs" striking the right balance between symphonic melodies, jackhammer drums and pummelling riffs. However when the foot is really put to the floor, as it is on "All For None", the million miles a minute snare thwacking is simply off putting and over bearing, proving that for every considered, if no less hard hitting moment on Where Demons Dare, there is a cluttered and over wrought barrage round the corner.

Early days for Insidiae and while there's promise and talent on this debut, I can't help but think that a little longer crafting these songs before have paid far greater dividends.

Track Listing
1. March Into Hell
2. Mercenary (Lock And Load)
3. I Won't Be Buried With You
4. Folie a Plusieurs
5. All For None
6. Skinnerbox
7. Major Arcana
8. Through The Eyes Of The Blind
9. Negation Delirium
10. Where Demons Dare

Added: August 25th 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Insidiae MySpace page
Hits: 1672
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by