Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Liverani, Daniele: Eleven Mysteries

Turn up the amp as Daniele Liverani has hit town with his new album. Liverani has quite a pedigree being the mastermind behind such bands as Khymera, Genius Rock Opera, Cosmics and Twinspirits and is probably better known for his keyboard skills. Well this gentleman is also quite handy with a six string too.

Oh boy this is how to make a stunning shredfest album, an album that has it all, virtuosity, integrity and melodic phrasings all woven as a conceptual instrumental album. It isn't just a shredfest album though, as respite is offered, in the form of beautiful melodic pieces that still re-enforce his craft and dexterity. As a musician he has quite cleverly understood that it's not always about the pyrotechnics, the little sedate nuances can at times create a bigger, metaphorical bang. The other fascinating aspect of this album is that he has not allowed the album to become a self-indulgent stage for his ego, which I tip my hat too.

Mr Liverani's chosen sparring partners, drummer Paco Barilla', bassist Tony Dickinson and keyboardist Marco Zago really add the flesh to the bone, supplying the oxygen for these instrumentals to live and breathe. They have also been allowed to stamp their own identities and personalities throughout. Liverani's guitar work tells the story and at times takes the role of adding musical vocalisations, an approach that offers intensity and atmospherics.

I love the way Barilla is allowed to breathe, especially on the closing sections of Nervous Forces as the band create the structures around him. That's not to take away from the rest of the band, as their contributions are just as important allowing, this whole affair to be what it is. The follow on track Supreme Gladness tips the balance displaying that there is two sides to a coin, a passionate and melodic piece, that it isn't always about how many notes per second you can play, confirming at times that less, is more; an instrumental that just exudes such intense beauty, phrasings that will send shivers down your spine, a theme that can be heard repeated during the listening experience. Giving is another piece that is allowed to offer up the same emotional rollercoaster ride slowing things down somewhat.

When rapidity is required though, the band is more than willing to oblige, whether that be little segments within a piece or as a whole, it is all about creating perfect atmospherics; Mysterious Impulse and Eternal are prime examples of this being a perfect way to both open and close an album . The atmospherics throughout this album have been created by wisely selecting the correct colours from the palette and applying them with perfection. It is important to vary the styles on albums like this and Liverani has done this succinctly. Top stuff indeed my friends.

Track List
1. Mysterious Impulse
2. Inspiration
3. Nervous Forces
4. Supreme Gladness
5. All Is Pure
6. Giving
7. Humiliation
8. Regeneration
9. Freedom
10. Survive
11. Eternal

Added: August 22nd 2012
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 2154
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by