Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jillian Graham Band: Moving On

Jillian began singing in school choral groups. She is self-taught and has played throughout the Seattle area, New England, and in Seoul Korea. Graham's band is made up of Jim Graham, on bass, Steve Torgerson, on drums, and of course, Jillian Graham, on vocals, guitar, and keys.

"Jillian was asked to sing the Korean National Anthem for the 2010 IKAA International Korean Adoptee Gathering in Seoul Korea. The former President's wife was one of the guests along with adoptees from all over the world, and much press. She went on to play Korean radio and at a few live shows in Seoul. She has since performed for numerous Korean music events and adoptee gatherings singing in both Korean and English. Graham is a member of the PNW Folklore Society, and is an organizer for a large singer/songwriter group "Songwriters in Seattle". She believes in giving back and "playing it forward" and has organized and performed for many charity and fundraising benefits", (, 2012).

Jillian and her band have created some well-written folk/blues, mixed with jazz tracks that will have your feet tapping to keep up with the beat on tracks like "Some Days". Then, she will try to melt your heart with sad love's lost songs like "Out of the Blue" or "Don't say Goodbye". The title track, "Movin' On" is a great travelling song full of emotion and a little country twang.

"Melt" and "Love is All Around Us" are two of the best tracks on the album. The anticipation in Graham's voice is a perfect effect blended with great guitar, bells and drums. If those tracks were good, then "Find Me' is the best track on the album. It is full of power and emotion. It has a classic 60's folk sound that echoes back from the past. "The Fence" has some of the best guitar playing on the album.

"I Wish for You (Song for my father)" is a very deep and emotional song that harkens back to some of the folk songs you might remember from your youth. A very beautiful tribute song.

Graham has a deeper and more dynamic sound to her voice than you might assume from her appearance.

If you are in search for something different from your regular music, this album might just be exactly what you need.

Track Listing:

1. Some Days
2. Out of Blue
3. Don't Say Goodbye
4. Movin' On
5. You Mean the World to Me
6. Melt
7. Love is All Around Us
8. Find Me
9. Love Can
10. The Fence
11. The Moon
12. I Wish for You (Song for my father)
13. I Missed His Call
14. Before You Go

Added: August 22nd 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: JillianGrahamBand
Hits: 2402
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by