Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Smith, Judge: Orfeas: A Songstory

Judge Smith, one of the co-founders of progressive rock giant Van der Graaf Generator, has released his most recent solo album, and this time he created an epic, 2 disc CD of his own. He has taken on the epic story of Orpheus, the musician, who took a trip through the underworld to try to retrieve his wife. Smith wrote the words and music for the album. Smith brings along a pantheon of famous talent with him through this "journey", including: "The George Orfeas Band", including: john "Fury" Ellis, on lead guitar; David Jackson, on saxophone; Marco Olivotto, on bass; Bert Santilly, on accordion; John Ellis, on rhythm guitar; Lene Lovich, plays Eurydice; david Shaw-Parker plays the Bard Anachronistes; Rene van Commenee, guest lead vocal as the Band in Hell; and the Interview Ensemble, Ricardo Odriozola, on violins and violas; Ben Nation, on cellos; David Shaw-Parker, as Mike 'Tyger'; Dorie Jackson, as radio jingle voice; David Minnick, on percussion, keyboards, bass, and guitar; John Ellis, speech-music guitar; and of course Judge Smith as George Orfeas himself.

This is a wild comedic romp with hints of Monty Python – like humour mixed with wonderful guitar and instrumental solos. It is a musical play on history with some of today's troubles and news mixed in to give you a modern perspective on the story, relating it to our crazy world in chaos existence.

The music is what you would expect from such a giant in the progressive world of rock…excellence. Very interesting compositions and inspired art. If you are a VDGG fan you will want to snatch this up as soon as possible.

Track Listing:

1. The Bard – One
2. Rundown Rudi 4:12
3. Soliloquy – One 0:46
4. Seven Yard Promenade 3:33
5. Interview – One 3:27
6. Orphic Lullaby 4:00
7. Soliloquy – Two 0:51
8. Wolfman George 3:14
9. Soliloquy – Three 1:24
10. The Bard – Two 1:41
11. Soliloquy – Four 1:43
12. In-Flight Movie – One 3:11
13. Orfeas and Eurydice – One 2:58
14. In-Flight Movie – Two 0:57
15. In Hell – One 0:18
16. Carpet of Bones 4:31
17. In Hell – Two 0:41
18. In-Flight Movie – Three 0:52
19. Orfeas and Eurydice – Two 1:53
20. The Crab Nebula 1:47
21. Orfeas and Eurydice – Three 1:10
22. Orfeas' Audition 4:48
23. Don't Look Back 2:42
24. In-Flight Movie – Four 1:15
25. Interview – Two 4:11
26. Fishin' in the Styx 3:27
27. Soliloquy – Five 0:48
28. Don't Deafen Me, Persephone 4:28
29. The Bard – Three 1:17
30. Soliloquy – Six 0:47
31. Catastrophe in Czecho 1:31
32. An Announcement 0:42
33. Tear Him Asunder 4:07
34. The Bard – Four 2:16

Added: August 10th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1383
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by