Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seas, The: A Separation

Comparing themselves to Radiohead, Tool, The Mars Volta, NIN, and Pink Floyd, among others, The Seas certainly has an interesting range of styles to incorporate into its debut album, A Separation. And for a few moments here and there, the record does venture off into interesting sounds and intriguing techniques; however, unfortunately, the majority of the music contained is little more than generic hard rock, which means that it fails to find its own identity.

Formed in Kentucky a few years ago, members Michael Sliter, Logan Powell, Jeremy Williams, and Rich Sester pride themselves on providing listeners with "…their own distinct sound and vision…a premium blend of progressive/metal/industrial influences…" Indeed, Sliter says that the music "…resonates emotionally… [the songs are] melodic and familiar on the surface, but violent and raw just beneath…" Like most bands with such grand aspirations, their goals far exceed their results. A Separation is fairly run-of-the-mill despite some unexpected flourishes, and it certainly doesn't break any new ground.

To its credit, A Separation opens with a wonderfully dissonant instrumental, "You're the one We've Been Waiting for." A mix of post-rock build-up and industrial effects, it's like the theoretical offspring of Porcupine Tree's "Strip the Soul" and a typical Mogwai track, and it flows into "Judas" seamlessly. Also, "The Great Wave" packs an engaging punch, and the two interludes, "Lost at Sea" and "Paper Moon," provide atmospheric breathers.

Sadly, once one considers the vocals and songwriting, The Seas becomes a lot less special, as the riffs, timbres, and arrangements rarely stray for bring cookie-cutter. There just isn't any real uniqueness to it, and the fact that the group employs the same sounds over and over again doesn't help make the album varied; in fact, the songs sound a lot alike, and none are really worth listening to in the first place. If the group could trust their slightly experimental side more than their overbearingly complacent direction, their next release might be worthwhile, but A Separation is definitely not something listeners need to get close to.

Track Listing
1. You're the one We've Been Waiting for
2. Judas
3. Human Condition
4. Lost at Sea
5. The Great Wave
6. A Separation
7. United/Divided
8. Paper Moon
9. Paper Sky

Added: August 9th 2012
Reviewer: Jordan Blum
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1428
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by