Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Soulfly: Enslaved

I was quite surprised by this new CD from Soulfly. Enslaved is the title and this time they have taken a more intense, darker, slightly death metal turn. Max Cavalera and guitar wiz Marc Rizzo are now joined by a new drummer Dave Kinkade and bass player Tony Kampos, this new Soulfly line-up have come together to unleash a sound that is so very powerful but still manages to retain that Soulfly vibe at times.

Now Soulfly obviously have decided to go in a even heavier direction, but in doing so have they lost some of that which sets this band's sound apart? Maybe so though I suppose their next release will tell whether this is a path they will stay on. But in the end it's the songs that matter and Enslaved has many that warrant repeat listens. The impactful cover art and title Enslaved serve to tie in with much of this releases theme about slavery.

"Resistance" introduces the album followed by the brisk double kicks courtesy of drummer Dave Kinkade coupled with Tony Kampos's bass as they dive into the aggression of "World Scum" and Max's vocals go into death metal mode. Lyrically this song draws on historical events of past brutalities, Travis Ryan of Cattle Decapitation contributes vocals also to "World Scum". "Intervention" mixes up the pace while "Gladiator" maintains the intensity and the various tempo changes of "Legions" gives the band a musical workout. You can always count on Soulfly to unleash those great head banging passages like that on track six "American Steel" as the tempo slows and the compelling groove is locked in. Soulfly continue to pummel the listener as Enslaved progresses but it's not all at rampant speeds, the closer for their latest release "Revengance" is one of Enslaved's best tracks as drummer Dave Kindake lets loose and helps to make this song so good.

Enslaved may not be instantly embraced by all Soulfly fans, as I was surprised at first by the changes, but in a welcome way, though it is a release that fans of heavier music should take the time to listen to.

Track List
1. Resistance
2. World Scum
3. Intervention
4. Gladiator
5. Legions
6. American Steel
7. Redemption of Man By God
8. Treachery
9. Plata O Plomo
10. Chains
11. Revengeance
Bonus tracks:
12. Slave
13. Bastard
14. Soulfly VIII

Added: August 4th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2111
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by