Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Osbourne, Ozzy: Speak of the Devil (DVD)

Not to be confused with the Speak of the Devil CD release of the same name, which featured the same line-up of Ozzy, guitarist Brad Gillis, bassist Rudy Sarzo, keyboard player Don Airey, and drummer Tommy Aldridge, doing all classic Black Sabbath songs, this DVD was filmed at Irvine Meadows Amphitheater in California on June 12, 1982 as part of the delayed continuation of the Diary Of A Madman tour following the tragic death of Randy Rhoads a few months earlier. Originally airing on MTV back in the day, it's been long anticipated for an original DVD release for quite some time. Instead of the rehashed Sabbath set that the CD featured, the band plays their normal repertoire that was highlighted on that tour, including many of the stellar tracks from Ozzy's first two solo albums. Though the camera work and overall presentation is somewhat dated, the band is super tight and really firing on all cylinders, with Ozzy in fine vocal form and Gillis really ripping it up on guitar. Though he would go on to fame with his band Night Ranger, it's almost a shame that he didn't stick it out with Ozzy as he perfectly plays Randy's parts here and injects his own personality into many of these songs.

Highlights are many, including "Over the Mountain", "Revelation (Mother Earth)", "Suicide Solution", "Believer", "Mr Crowley", and "Crazy Train", and the band even tosses in a few Sabbath tunes in the form of "Iron Man", "Children of the Grave", and a tired "Paranoid". Props to Sarzo, Aldridge, and the always dependable Airey, who also helped make this line-up the brief success it was. Eagle Rock includes a nice little booklet with the DVD packed with color photos, adding to the overall classy presentation of this landmark concert.

Track Listing
01. Over The Mountain
02. Mr Crowley
03. Crazy Train
04. Revelation (Mother Earth)
05. Steal Away (The Night)
06. Suicide Solution
07. Guitar / Drum Solo
08. Goodbye To Romance
09. I Don't Know
10. Believer
11. Flying High Again
12. Iron Man
13. Children Of The Grave
14. Paranoid

Added: July 29th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1870
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by