Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Vulture: Oblivious To Ruin

Delivering a snapping, talon sharp debut, Pennsylvanian sludge/doom quintet Vulture swoop into view, full of hate fuelled intent and with an evil glint in their eyes. Ready to feed on the corpses of metalheads everywhere. Not quite as slow, or intentionally monotonous as many of the bands in this grinding field, Vulture pick up a fair gallop on Oblivious To Ruin, with the mammoth whack of guitar that gives birth to "Coming Storm", or "Bedridden" hurtling at you with no intention of taking any prisoners or leaving anything in their paths unscathed. The twin guitar assault of Gene Fikhamm and Garrett Twardesky hammer into place alongside the gargantuan bass rumble of Justin Bach with lethal intent. The other Justin, vocalist Justin Erb brings a pretty damn convincing growling gargle, which possesses as much, if not more power than the riffs that tumble out for every second of this album, although there's a hint of subtlety in his delivery that many of his peers would do well to pay heed to. Add to that potent blend, the unfussy, almost clinically precise percussion from Kelly Cabany and Vulture already have all the components required to make their doomy sludge stick.

Bringing to mind everything from Buzzoven, Pantera to Eyehategod, or for that matter something even more Southern fried in a kind of mutilated Lynyrd Skynyrd sort of way, Vulture may well not be quite original enough for everyone's taste (although almost every band could fall into that category then) but no one can deny that they make an almightily convincing ruckus. "Apathetic Life" impacts with such a convincing thud you'll be unable to raise yourself from your place of rest, while "Dead Sea" is so mighty in its force that it threatens to send you to your place of permanent rest!

Oblivious To Ruin is an impressive and confident early statement from a band who, if they can maintain this form and add their own twist, are set to join the sludge and doom big boys.

Track Listing
1. The Beautiful Infection
2. Oblivious To Ruin
3. Dead Sea
4. Long I Crawl
5. Coming Storm
6. Bedridden
7. Apathetic Life

Added: July 21st 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Vulture on BandCamp
Hits: 1240
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by