Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Periphery: Periphery II

A band that certainly divided opinion on their first outing, Periphery have returned with the inventively named Periphery II for their second full playing release. With their mix of constant time changes interjected with progressive elements they soon became innovators of the DJENT genre. The clean/scream vocals and very nature of the musical style was not to every bodies taste but the raw elements of a band finding their niche was mealy an album away. So it comes as no surprise to find that this time around Periphery have returned with a sound more rounded and recognizable as their own. Combining complex rhythms, technical precision and some sublime progressive elements to complement the brutality of some the tracks seems to work to great effect. Spencer Sotelo has some truly wonderful pipes belting out the brutal melodies on 'Scarlet' and opening track 'Muramasa' with real conviction. Comparisons to Meshuggah will be an obvious target for anyone not familiar with Periphery, however, the interjecting of progressive forward thinking melodies and some fantastic inspirational guitar work of Misha Mansoor & Jake Bowen sees them tread along familiar territory of such greats as Pink Floyd and Dream Theater. With an album a riff over the 69 minute mark this is an indulgent all encompassing release that reintroduces the 'whole album' aspect of music appreciation. Yes, you could dip in and pick tracks out but this is an album that stands as a whole listening experience which is becoming a rare thing in today's world.

For whatever reason, on paper I should not like this band but a trip out of the box now and again has rewarded me with something fresh and new. If Periphery is the future of progressive music it sometimes proves worthy of taking a risk, as their name suggests they are no longer on the Periphery but most certainly in the very center of a phenomena. Periphery II stands out as a genre defining progressive assault, this is the future and the future is here.

Track Listing
1. Muramasa (2:51)
2. Have a Blast (5:55)
3. Facepalm Mute (4:54)
4. Ji (5:14)
5. Scarlet (4:08)
6. Luck as a Constant (6:04)
7. Ragnarok (6:35)
8. The Gods Must Be Crazy! (3:38)
10. Erised (6:13)
11. Epoch (2:10)
12. Froggin' Bullfish (5:05)
13. Mile Zero (5:31)
14. Masamune (6:09)

Added: July 7th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2121
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by