Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bachman & Turner: Live at the Roseland Ballroom, NYC (Blu-ray)

Here is the companion Blu-ray video release to the fun 2CD set Live at the Roseland Ballroom, NYC from the reunited Randy Bachman & Fred Turner, former leaders of the '70s hard rock behemoths Bachman Turner Overdrive. Filmed in New York City on November 16, 2010, the duo, joined by drummer Marc LaFrance, guitarists Brent Howard Knudsen & Mick Dalla-Vee, and guest keyboard player Paul Shaffer late in the set, rip through plenty of BTO classics, plus a few Guess Who tunes as well as selections from their recent self-titled studio release.

Well, it's obvious here that both Bachman & Turner still 'got' it, as Randy continues to deliver those big, meaty, yet catchy riffs, and Fred those thumping bass grooves, not to mention solid vocals from the two of them, on classic cuts "Let It Ride", "Hey You", "Rock Is My Life", "Sledgehammer", and "Four Wheel Drive". In fact, the superhuman "Not Fragile" is just as heavy today as it was over 35 years ago. Good to hear the few jazzier pieces like "Lookin' Out For #1" and "Blue Collar" mixed in amongst the heavy rockers, and new tracks like "Slave to the Rhythm" and "That's What It Is" fit right in. Of course, it wouldn't be a B&T set without "Takin' Care of Business", "Roll On Down the Highway" (both with Shaffer hamming it up on piano) and "You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet", as well as the Guess Who megahit "American Woman".

This show looks like it was given a look of a real 'event' at the Roseland Ballroom, even though the crowd doesn't seem very large, but the set is enormous and the band looks imposing with all four guitarists out there together in a row and camera crews flying left and right. The crowd seemed to be really enjoying themselves, though you have to wonder how many of them really were all that familiar with the BTO repertoire, as they really only seemed to come to life during the really big radio hits. Very solid video and audio are delivered here, and though we've seen much better high-definition concerts on other recent Eagle Rock releases, this one is still solid and the band performance more than makes up for any negatives on the technical presentation.

A big 'welcome back' to Mr. Bachman & Mr. Turner!

Track Listing
1. Let it Ride 4:34
2. Rock Is My Life 4:46
3. Not Fragile 4:34
4. Hey You 3:44
5. Hold Back the Water 4:25
6. Waiting Game 4:39
7. Moonlight Rider 4:18
8. Lookin' Out For #1 4:30
9. Stayed Awake All Night 4:03
10. American Woman 2:46
11. Four Wheel Drive 4:51
12. Slave To the Rhythm 4:21
13. Blue Collar 6:58
14. That's What It Is 3:48
15. Sledgehammer 4:50
16. Rollin' Along 3:49
17. You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet 4:52
18. Shakin' All Over 3:31
19. Roll On Down The Highway 4:24
20. Takin' Care Of Business 4:51

Added: June 29th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2791
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by