Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Raconteurs, The: Live at Montreux 2008 (Blu-ray)

The Raconteurs are an indie-rock supergroup formed in the early 2000s and are comprised of White Stripe guitarist/vocalist Jack White, singer/songwriter/guitarist Brendan Benson, and Jack Lawrence & Patrick Keeler, rhythm section from The Greenhornes. The band had two hit albums a few years back, Broken Boy Sodiers (2006) and Consolers of the Lonely (2008), and this concert at the famous Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland was in support of the latter. Containing a large selection of the two studio albums, the band, with touring member Mark Watrous on board (keyboards, fiddle, percussion, violin, vocals), the band tear it up and deliver one memorable rocker after another in front of an adoring crowd.

Not following the indie scene much, I'll be the first to admit I'd never heard of this band, though of course Mr. White has made quite a name for himself over the years with his band the White Stripes. Much to my surprise, this is a pretty rockin' set, with the band churning out some serious bluesy hard rock & pop that more often than not recalls vintage '70s acts like Grand Funk Railroad, Led Zeppelin, and Humble Pie, with a modern twist of course. White really lets it rip on the guitar on "Blue Veins", and hard rockers like "Broken Boy Soldiers", "Top Yourself", "Keep It Clean", and "Level" mix in well with the more pop based "Consoler of the Loney", "Hold Up", and "Carolina Drama". On the occasion when both White and his Gretsch & Benson and his Telecaster trade off some intense guitar licks, the action really picks up. Toss in some tasty keyboards from Watrous and the tight rhythms from Lawrence & Keeler and you have a pretty formidable band here.

Expertly filmed in high-definition (even for 2008, this really does look spectacular) and with great sound, this is an overall very solid presentation and quite enjoyable on all fronts. Again, Eagle Rock delivers in a big way.

Track Listing

  1. Consoler Of The Lonely
  2. Hold Up
  3. You Don't Understand Me
  4. Top Yourself
  5. Old Enough
  6. Keep It Clean
  7. Intimate Secretary
  8. Level
  9. Steady, As She Goes
  10. The Switch and The Spur
  11. Rich Kid Blues
  12. Blue Veins
  13. Many Shades of Black
  14. Broken Boy Soldier
  15. Salute Your Solution
  16. Carolina Drama

Added: June 29th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 3386
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by