Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Zone Six/Vespero: The Split Thing

The Split Thing is a collaboration between two space rock bands, Russia's Vespero and Germany's Zone Six, who have just released this 4 track CD on Transubstans Records. The bulk of the CD is carried by Vespero, as the 3 songs they contribute to The Split Thing offer up hypnotic, pulsating space rock in the grand tradition of Ozric Tentacles, complete with chirping synths, tight, repetitive rhythms, and sizzling guitar solos. Zone Six adds in just one song here, but it's the near 25-minute monster known as "Babapapatantramanta". This is much darker and menacing than what Vespero have included on the CD, as Zone Six channel those early Pink Floyd and Hawkwind records and bring more noise, dissonance, and avant-garde exporations to the table. You still get the fluttering synths and manic beats, but the guitar work is heavier and the melodies darker and more foreboding.

While neither band brings anything really new to space rock genre, this is still a more than competant sampling of what each band is all about for those who can't get enough of this adventurous and 'spacey' style of music.

Track Listing
01 Nüllus
02 Clouds
03 Lifeless Pillars
04 Babapapatantramanta

Added: June 26th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Bands @ Record Heaven/Transubstans Records
Hits: 1801
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by