Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Taylor's Free Universe: On-Plugged in Elsinore

Featuring special guest Peter Friis Nielsen on bass, Robin Taylor's Taylor's Free Universe( Karsten Vogel- alto sax, Pierre Tassone- processed violin, Robin Taylor-atmospheric guitar and electronics,Kalle Mathiesen- percussives,samples) present us with a live concert from Elsinore ,Denmark. As the band name implies, this is a free jazz quintet which does things its own way; although we do hear some of their 60's avant jazz/ free influences come to the forefront on occasion.

The disc begins with a Neilsen composition titled Amalie. This piece has an Ornette Coleman feel to it, from his Shape Of Jazz To Come era. The jazz structure is evident but the solos tend to depart from the main song structure and veer into unchartered waters. Picnic At Noon follows . This one consists of the squonking and noodling often associated with free music. Electronics and atmospherics send the song spiralling into a more rock-oriented direction. The Vogel piece Tight Little Waves acts as a superb showcase for the alto sax player; whose Dolphyesque playing is accentuated by Nielsen's bass in a beautiful duet number. The Fifth Element has the quintet delving into the realms of psychedelia, with a hypnotic bass line laying the foundation for more superb sax incursions. Nielsen slowly returns to the forefront as he nimbly plucks his strings while racing across the fretboard.Pierre Tassone's processed violin then carves it's way through the music before Taylor's idiosyncratic guitar style steps in and Nielsen returns to the forefront in a tasty bass solo. Exit Elsinore begins in a very dark and soulful manner and plods along at a deliberately slow pace.Seductive saxophone floats over a delicate, exploratory musical frame consisting of a droning processed violin chord played repeatedly. The closing Train is a harder edged number which brings Taylor's guitar to the forefront giving the track a definitive "rock" feel.Nielsen excels on bass once again , laying down a very complex line. Vogel then shows off more note-frenetic dexterity with some ripping alto saxophone excursions. The track keeps building to a fevered pitch before slowly unravelling in a great display of tension/release.

Fans of modern free jazz will be well served with this latest Free Universe release. The music is difficult yet coherent and the musicianship is flawless.

Track Listing:

  1. Amalie 9:02
  2. Picnic At Noon 10:40
  3. Tight Little Waves 7:16
  4. The Fifth Element 16:05
  5. Exit Elsinore 13:05
  6. Train 9:46

Added: April 4th 2004
Reviewer: Yves Dubé
Related Link:
Hits: 4026
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by