Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Morglbl: Brutal Romance

The French avant-garde/metal/jazz trio known as Morglbl are back with their latest collection of instrumental insanity, titled Brutal Romance. If you haven't yet experienced the musical pleasures from Christophe Godin (guitars), Ivan Rougny (bass), and Aurelien Ouzoulias (drums and percussion), you are really missing out on something special. Imagine a wacky cross between Steve Vai, Mike Keneally, Freak KItchen, Steve Morse Band, and Frank Zappa, only more metallic, and you have an idea of the kind of stuff these guys bring to the table.

Opener "Gnocchis on the Block" lets Godin show right off the bat just how much of a guitar hero in waiting he truly is. This guy can flat out shred, as he does with reckless abandon on the crushing title track, as waves of notes come pouring out of his guitar amidst tricky rhythms and thunderous riffs. Have to like how the band also add in some neat little Morse/Dregs styled riffs in this one to mix things up. "Golden Ribs" is wild instrumental rock & fusion with a Steve Vai influenced flair (again featuring Godin's stunning chops), and "Fidel Gastro" is chock full of catchy, charming little melodies that show how the band can also come up with a fun pop ditty. Rougny's lean bass lines permeate the heavy funk of "Cantal Goyave", and he trades off some complex unison patterns with Godin on the technical "Glucids In The Sky". For the prog fan, there's the King Crimson influenced "Wig Of Change", and "Metal Khartoom" is a great vehicle for Godin's lightning leads, whammy bar theatrics, and crunchy metal riffs.

Pretty amazing stuff from a trio that just gets more frighteningly good with each release, Brutal Romance not only shows a band firing on all cylinders, but is further evidence of a guitar hero who is ready for the world to stand up and take notice. Free Electric Sound has another winner on their hands!

Track Listing
1. Gnocchis On The Block (5:22)
2. Brutal Romance (4:54)
3. Le Surfer d'Argentine (6:42)
4. Golden Ribs (6:47)
5. Fidel Gastro (6:48)
6. Oh P1 Can Not Be (4:54)
7. Cantal Goyave (5:09)
8. Glucids In The Sky (6:12)
9. Wig Of Change (5:24)
10. Metal Khartoom (5:23)
11. 11 Casse (3:49)

Added: June 20th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2102
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by