Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bayley, Blaze: The King Of Metal

This latest release from Blaze Bayley follows closely on from the excellent new Wolfsbane album (Wolfsbane Saves The World) that was issued earlier this year and is notable for being the first album that positions Blaze as a solo artist as opposed to band leader. The title track is not a self proclamation but instead about paying due respect to the dedicated metal fans that continue to support the artists and enable them to continue to record and perform. A full on melodic charge with a direct message it serves as a satisfying opener. Elsewhere Blaze pays tribute to two of metal's fallen heroes "Dimebag" is a poignant reflection on the fateful night in Columbus, coming across as both purposeful and sincere whereas "The Rainbow Fades to Black" with its chugging "Neon Knights"-esque riff is a heartfelt farewell to the late Ronnie James Dio.

Inevitably there is less of a "band" feel about this album and the songs are structured primarily around the melody and vocals. That said the Maiden twin axe assault is more than evident on the do or die attitude of "Fighter" and the explosive anger of "Judge Me". Piano ballad "One More Step" is a real departure from what has gone before and should Blaze decide to tackle this song in the live environment it would serve as a moment to catch your breath amongst the full throttle sonic aggression. The personal nature of the lyrics that Blaze is renowned for are once again in evidence on "The Black Country" where he reflects on having to return to work in a factory in order to earn a living. It is this open style of writing that endears Blaze to his loyal following that have followed his career and life through its many highs and lows.

Whilst it may not quite scale the heights of either The Man Who Would Not Die or Promise And Terror, The King of Metal is bursting with the enthusiasm, passion and raw emotion that defines what Blaze Bayley is all about.

Track Listing
01 The King Of Metal
02 Dimebag
03 The Black Country
04 The Rainbow Fades To Black
05 Fate
06 One More Step
07 Fighter
08 Judge Me
09 Difficult
10 Beginning

Added: June 14th 2012
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1535
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by