Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Villebråd: Ampersand

Ampersand is an album that has an experimental foundation that one could only describe as pop art, a union of pop with a Progressive bent. The electronica approach has a compositional palette that will not suit everyone's taste. I do believe though that this as an album does have the ability to become a commercial hit worldwide placed in the right hands. Powerful word……….

As an album, musically, it has an air of familiarity yet retains an element of originality, it commands real authority, electronic, experimental, ethereal soundscapes that twist and turn. It can sound repetitive in places, even sounding like one piece, such is the power of the structure, but quite cleverly the band still manage to give that irksome adjective boring a wide birth.

Variety is the spice of life and fortunately the band has understood this rule of thumb, which has allowed them to construct interesting soundstages. Compositionally, for me there are only three tracks that really stand out, album opener Sketchy Feelings and the last two tracks on the album Ampersand and Harm. It isn't that the other seven tracks aren't worthy per se, as they are; they develop their identities, emphasizing and building their own conclusive musical structures. It's just that those three tracks have more to offer.

This is an album that does have that feel good factor, an album that merges different styles, an album that isn't afraid to challenge its listener, knowing that both parties will be winners. I tip my proverbial hat too Påhl Sundström (Guitars, Vocals), David Hallberg (Guitars), Petter Broman (Bass) and Erik Sundström (Drums) for their creations. I'm not too sure what they put in the water in Sweden, (answers on a postcard please), but I for one would love a few pints of whatever it is. I'm definitely a convert and I absolutely loved what I have heard here. Is there anything more that could be said to convince you?

Track List
1. Sketchy Feelings
2. Liberation Day
3. Clouded Sleeping Buildings
4. Dead Weight
5. Split in Two
6. Another Worthless Phrase
7. Inertia
8. No More Open Hands
9. Ampersand
10. Harm

Added: June 6th 2012
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 1545
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by