Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Despite Exile: Re-Evolve

Keen to build on the momentum of their debut EP Scarlet Reverie, Italian progressive deathcore act Despite Exile have made a quick-fire return with a three track pre-album EP teaser, Re-Evolve. And some teaser it is! Bringing together aspects of Veil Of Maya, Born Of Osiris, Meshuggah and Whitechapel, the three tracks on Re-Evolve do exactly as their EP title suggests. Resulting in constantly reshaped and altering attacks of out and out deathcore grind-grunt, white knuckle speed riffs, blurring time changes and kick drum and fretboard pyrotechnics.

Mean, uncompromising, yet amazingly complex and melodic, Despite Exile never sit on any one idea for too long, preferring instead to side swipe from approach to approach. Being utterly convincing as they do so. Add to that a gargantuan sound and the confidence to keep the songs short and sharp (the whole EP clocks in at under twelve minutes) and what this young, fresh band have concocted is really rather formidable.

If the standard set with the three tracks on Re-Evolve can be maintained across a whole album, then be prepared for Despite Exile to make 2012 their year!

Track Listing
1. Oscillate
2. Perfection Neutralized
3. Mechanical

Added: June 9th 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Despite Exile Official WebSite
Hits: 1747
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by