Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Burning Point: The Ignitor

The Ignitor is the fifth album from Finnish metal act Burning Point, finding the band blending power metal in the vein of Primal Fear, with the rapid attack of classic era Helloween. And a damn fine job they have done of it too! To some the familiar themes might feel like a bit of a retread of other band's styles and ideas. However the strong addition of keyboards and the conviction with which this hard riffing lot attack their songs makes for an extremely involving album. Singer Pete Ahonen possesses the right blend of high octane histrionics and a lower register bark, giving the songs a surprising range and scope. His voice, along with the ever busy guitar barrage from Pekka Kolivoiuri shape the intentions of The Ignitor, although the keyboard contribution (I'm guessing courtesy of the now departed Pasi Hiltula?) also makes a big impact on the album.

Unlike many bands operating in this genre, Burning Point avoid sounding too similar from song to song, with the likes of the slower chant of "Lost Tribe", or the Dio like stomp of "Demon Inside Of You", which also feature less in the way of keyboards, cleverly breaking up the speed-fests of "In The Fire Of Myself - Made" and "Holier Than Thou". Drummer Jussi Ontero keeps things thundering along and whether it be through his thousand beats a second pummelling, or more restrained power-smashes, his tight time keeping and ability to constantly work the whole kit without swamping the rest of the music is something many better known drummers could learn from. Not to be outdone bassist Jukka Jokikokko also knows when to really thunder things up and when to take a wise step back.

I wouldn't go as far as to suggest that The Ignitor will suddenly make non believers in power or speed metal bombast see the errors of their ways. However Burning Point have created an album, that while far from reinventing the wheel, will have ardent followers of this style of music frothing over their air-guitars.

Track Listing
1. Eternal Flame
2. In The Fire's Of Myself - Made
3. In The Night
4. The Ignitor
5. Silent Scream
6. Heaven Is Hell
7. Losing Sleep
8. Demon Inside Of You
9. Everdream
10. Lost Tribe
11. Holier Than Thou

Added: June 4th 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Burning Point Official WebSite
Hits: 3100
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by