Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mnemic: Mnemesis

What is going on?! 2012 is now officially the year of Metal! There has been one amazing record after another being released and the new Mnemic record, Mnemesis (great title, right?!) is no exception. Another new disc that is up for Metal release of the year and on Mnemesis, Mnemic finds themselves with a complete makeover as a band. All that remains from the past versions of Mnemic are singer Guillaume Bideau and guitarist Mircea Gabriel Eftemie and they now welcome in bass player Simone Bertozzi, guitarist Victor Ray Salomonsen and new drummer Brian Larsen. This re-launch of Mnemic have produced what might be their best and strongest record to date. Welcome in a bit of "Djent", 7 string guitar thumping and riffage and say goodbye to Bideau's unnecessary caterwauling, also replaced with some excellent clean vocals offset with a little growling for good measure. Mnemesis has not left this reviewers ears for 2 straight weeks, it kills!

The Danish quintet has upped the ante for Extreme Metaller's with Mnemesis, a 10 track CD that doesn'toffer you much time to breath once you push play. "Transcend" opens up the record in fine fashion with that normal Mnemic, audio injection messing with your brain. Groove heavy and filled with Bideau laying down some great vocal tracks where you finally get to hear what he can do when he really sings. Catchy, heavy… Mnemic. Excellent! "Junkies on the Storm" keeps up that Danish pace with another headbangingly heavy detuned romp and another get stuck in your head chorus. Mnemic are firing on all cylinders here on Mnemesis and the abundance of top notch Modern Metal is evident on other tracks like "Pattern Platform", "Ocean Of Void" and my personal favorite, the title track, "Mnemesis", with its twisting and turning of a 7 string riff.

Mnemic have rebooted themselves in 2012 and have served up a career defining release with their CD, Mnemesis.All 10 tracks are killer and are well paced out track to track with a tremendous audio experience of a production. The CD sounds awesome, the songs are awesome and this record should find a home with ANYONE that is into the Modern Metal scene and even to those that are more "old school"with their metal. Good is good and Mnemesis is great! I have been a fan of Mnemic for a long time now and as classic as the records Mechanical Spin Phenomena and Audio Injected Soul are, Mnemesis walks right along side either of those 2 amazing records. Mnemic, version 2012 are a force to be reckoned with and places this with the best Metal records of the year. Go get yerself some and be prepared for some awesomeness!

Track Listing
  1. Transcend
  2. Valves
  3. Junkies On The Storm
  4. I've Been You
  5. Pattern Platform
  6. Mnemesis
  7. There's No Tomorrow
  8. Haven At The End Of The World
  9. Ocean Of Void
  10. Blue Desert In A Black Hole

Added: June 2nd 2012
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2868
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by