Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Status Minor: Ouroboros

Ouroboros is the sophomore release from Finnish progressive power metal act Status Minor, following up their 2009 debut Dialog. Once again the band has put together a collection of songs that deliver high pitched melodic vocals, crunchy guitar riffs, speedy rhythms, plenty of keyboard orchestrations, and just enough soaring melodies to make these songs memorable. It might not be the most groundbreaking release you'll hear in the genre this year, but Ouroboros is a tasty treat for sure.

"The Wind" and "Hollow" kick off the album in splendid 1-2 fashion, as singer Markku Kuikka lends his powerful vocal ability to two tracks that are extremely well played and catchy, featuring no shortage of blazing guitar and keyboard passages. "Glass Wall" has a nice chorus and pleasing keyboards, while the tender ballads "Like a Dream" and " Confidence and Trust" features guest female vocals and lush piano, plus a wonderful guitar solo from Sami Saarinen on the former. The band launches into Dream Theater styled prog-metal mode on the memorable "Stain", and approach Symphony X territory on the speedy & heavy "Smile". Epic closer "Sail Away" is the CDs longest track at nearly 11-minutes long, and contains the most complex arrangements on the album. This is the one that prog lovers will no doubt be drawn to, with plenty of intricate guitar work, symphonic keyboards, powerful vocals, and complex rhythms.

Overall, Ouroboros is a decent release, and one that should please fans of progressive & power metal styles. I'm not nuts about the drum sound on the album, which comes across as really flat (though the playing is fine), and I wish the band took a few more chances musically in spots, but otherwise this is a good sophomore CD from a talented band, and another winner from the folks at Lion Music.

Track Listing
1. The Wind (4:15)
2. Hollow (4:56)
3. Glass Wall (4:35)
4. Like a Dream (5:46)
5. Confidence and Trust (2:31)
6. Stain (6:32)
7. Smile (5:34)
8. Flowers Die (5:24)
9. Sail Away (10:44)

Added: May 24th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3420
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by