Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Scythe: Beware the Scythe

Beware the Scythe is the debut release from Scythe, the new band formed by Rick Scythe, ex of the disbanded act Usurper. Fans of that band will be pleased to know that Scythe carries on in that same old school tradition, which is to take the early Florida death metal sounds and the more brutal thrash styles of say Slayer and Celtic Frost, and combine them for plenty of thrashy blackened death fun.

Tracks like "The Iron Witch", "Mastermind", "Tyrannical Stranglehold", and "Eye of the Crow" feature some splendidly memorable riffs and heavy grooves, and overall the album has a bit of variety which is a good thing. Rather than rely on constant blasting and bludgeoning arrangements Scythe tosses in some melody and enough tasty guitar harmonies to keel things interesting. Beware the Scythe isn't going to win any awards for originality, but it's a damn enjoyable slab 'o extreme metal fare that shows the promise of a new band on the scene that's sure to make an impact.

Track Listing
1. The Iron Witch 04:40
2. Mastermind
3. Beware the Scythe
4. Tyrannical Stranglehold
5. Tunguska Death Ray
6. Opus Dei of the Dead
7. Talons of Steel
8. Eye of the Crow
9. Planet of the Humans

Added: May 23rd 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1802
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by