Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

A Whisper In the Noise: To Forget

A Whisper in the Noise was formed ten years ago by Minneapolis based artist West Thordson. This musician/composer has various influences from Dylan, Roger Waters and Philip Glass. Quite a ghostly artist this young man is. He first moved into his abandoned elementary school where he composed music in the same music room he attended. For this later work, he moved into a deserted farm house that he transformed also as a studio. He teamed up with violin player and singer Sonja Larson now, while he himself takes care of all other instruments and vocals.

The band's name is quite appropriately describing the music one is about to listen to. This is in no way a noisy, head-banging or suitable for party animals, so be advised. All the compositions being delivered here are of a much relaxing and ambient nature. The inspirations are said to come from nature and its sounds power etc…and not only from music itself. The vocals are mellow and somewhat eerie. A few punchy lines are appearing here and there on songs like: "Sad, Sad Song" and "Every Blade of Grass". Note that the first one is also showcasing some very nice acoustic arrangements. Both vocals are pleasant to listen and are making very harmonious passages whether solo or in duet. The keyboards are painting subtle atmospheric scenery on which the violin, guitars and various instruments added nuanced emotional hues. Feelings of sadness, melancholia and happiness too are present on this rather dreamy environment. A very melodic album that also contains its moment of catchiness. I'm thinking about "All My" especially here. If I was to point out a "heavier" tune, that would be "Every Blade of Grass". As already mentioned, it has some punch coming from pounding percussions, as well as electric guitars with echo and a bit of distortion in it. My overall favorite composition has to be "Sad, Sad Song", although there are absolutely no bad tracks on the entire album.

To Forget is a very nice and easily enjoyable album bound to make the hot and sunny summer days even more pleasant.

Track listing:
1- To Forget
2- Black Shroud
3- A Sea Estranging Us
4- All My
5- Sad, Sad Song
6- Every Blade of Grass
7- Maya's Song
8- Your Hand
9- Of this Sorrow

Added: July 24th 2012
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: Exile on Mainstream Records
Hits: 1958
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by