Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sweet: Live-Are You Ready?

Here we have the other current version of Sweet, with original bassist Steve Priest at the helm, releasing a live album of all old classic tunes from the band, coming out at the same time as guitarist Andy Scott's Sweet covers album New York Connection. I'm sure for many loyal Sweet fans the fact that there are two versions of the band right now is pretty ridiculous, but from what has been said the reason is that both Scott and Priest live in different countries so for touring purposes they have two factions so both can perform live in their territories. My guess is there are some legal issues going on as well, but who knows.

Live-Are You Ready? is a raucous live album from Priest and his cohorts, which include guitarist Stuart Smith, drummer Richie Onori, vocalist Joe Retta, and Stevie Stewart on keyboards / vocals. Recorded August 2008 at the Morongo Casino, California, this live set was originally released in 2009, so this is basically a reissue for all those who who didn't check it out the first time. Most of all the old Sweet classics are here, including the rousing hard rock number "Action", the catchy "Fox on the Run", the glam classics "Teenage Rampage", "Hellraiser", and "Blockbuster", plus the majestic "Love is Like Oxygen", which contains some splendid lead guitar work from Smith. Of course, it wouldn't be a Sweet live album without the silly yet addictive "Wig Wam Bam" and "Little Willy", or the hard rock classics "Set Me Free" and "Ballroom Blitz", two highly influential numbers that were covered by more than a few hard rock & heavy metal bands in the '80s. "Windy City" is quite crunchy here, thanks to Smith's beefy riffs, and the guitarist lays down the riffage alongside some equally powerful keyboard from Stewart on the raging "Sweet F.A. ". Retta struts his stuff on the raunchy hard rock of "Turn It Down" and turns in a powerful performance on the bands scorching cover of The Beatles classic " I Saw Her Standing There".

As far as live albums go, this is a damn fine one, as Priest & Sweet do these classics justice, kicking them up a notch even as far as guitar power is concerned thanks to the presence of Smith, who really is a talented axe-man. Some songs never grow old, and most of these tunes are just as enjoyable today as they were 30+ years ago.

Track Listing
1. Action
2. Fox On The Run
3. Hell Raiser
4. Love Is Like Oxygen
5. Blockbuster
6. Wig Wam Bam
7. The Six Teens
8. Windy City
9. Sweet F.A.
10. Turn It Down
11. Teenage Rampage
12. Little Willy
13. A.C.D.C
14. Set Me Free
15. Ballroom Blitz
16. I Saw Her Standing There [*]

Added: May 20th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1592
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by