Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cult, The: Choice of Weapon

Choice of Weapon is the first new album from rockers The Cult since 2007's Born Into This, and sees the band reuniting with producer Bob Rock (who worked with them on their massive album Sonic Temple) as well as Chris Gross, resulting in one of their strongest releases in quite some time.

Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy have written an album here dealing with many of the problems currently infiltrating the world these days, environmental, spiritual, and political. Musically, there's a lot of diversity going on throughout Choice of Weapon, so you get a mix of hard rockers, atmospheric numbers, and ballads. "Honey From a Knife" busts out of the gate in furious fashion, filled with nasty guitars from Duffy and Astbury's powerful vocals. "Elemental Light" is one of the most catchy and memorable ballads from The Cult in quite some time, and a song that will stick in your head from the very first listen. The band channels their inner Led Zeppelin on the heavy rock number "The Wolf", and " Life > Death" is another stirring ballad complete with lovely piano, strings, and a sizzling guitar solo. Astbury's vocals on this one are quite poignant.

"For The Animals" rocks and rocks hard, chock full of that swagger that The Cult were always known for, plus a tasty wah-wah laced solo from Duffy. This is followed by another juggernaut in "Amnesia", as Astbury spews his venom over some thick grooves from bassist Chris Wyse and drummer John Tempesta for a pulsating ride. "Wilderness Now" is a textured ballad featuring keyboards and strings, plus a fine vocal from Astbury, but it might be the weakest track here. The snarling "Lucifer" is a great vehicle for Duffy, as his ragged guitar licks permeate this hard rocking song, and Astbury does his best Jim Morrisson impression on the forceful "A Pale Horse". Proggy keyboards set the stage on the closer "This Night In The City Forever" an atmospheric rocker that takes things down a notch and end the album one a moody note.

If you happen to get the deluxe edition, there are 4 additional songs, including the upbeat rocker "Every Man and Woman Is A Star", the ballad "Embers", another Zeppelin influenced number "Until The Light Takes Us", and the groove laden and somewhat progressive "Siberia". All are solid tracks and worthy additions to the album. For longtime fans of The Cult, Choice of Weapon will be a complete triumph, showing a veteran band that has plenty of life left in the tank.

Track Listing
01. Honey From A Knife
02. Elemental Light
03. The Wolf
04. Life > Death
05. For The Animals
06. Amnesia
07. Wilderness Now
08. Lucifer
09. A Pale Horse
10. This Night In The City Forever
11. Every Man And Woman Is A Star
12. Embers
13. Until The Light Takes Us
14. Siberia

Added: May 20th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2911
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by