Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Firewind: Few Against Many

Unlike the economic turmoil of their home country of Greece, Firewind have always been steadily on the up. New album Few Against Many will surely propel them that little bit further up the Metal food chain helped by their not so secret weapon the mighty Gus G slinging his axe like a sword of justice. With the distinctive tone of Apollo Papathanasio belting out some of the best vocals of his career it's with thanks to his time with Spiritual Beggars, which has left him improving and evolving in his vocal delivery. 'Wall Of Sound' is the first track to greet us on this latest effort with Gus G certainly coming good on his promise with this being a heavier affair for Firewind. When we get to 'Losing My Mind' and 'The Undying Fire' we really get to hear the truly wonderful fret work of Gus in action with some sublime solo's. His time with Ozzy has cultivated a raw talent that was inevitably aching to be released to its full potential, so it's with delight that he has fully let loose the guitar god within and dripped this album with track after track of guitar athletics.

Harboring some creative melodies combined with a barrage of riffs Few Against Many'is proving that Firewind are no one trick pony. Stand out track is the captivating 'Glorious' combining its thundering riffs with a killer chorus. Collaborating with the cello wielding Apocalyptic for 'Edge Of A Dream' has proved to be a definite success and delves slightly deeper into the band Firewind have been threatening to portray to the world, Apollo delivering an outstanding vocal throughout.

Few Against Many is a complete triumph on all levels and will take many people by surprise by its depth and sheer quality. With the amazing talent of Gus G driving this band to the upper levels of metal stardom the world is about to be invaded by the five Greek Gods known as Firewind

Track Listing
1. Wall Of Sound
2. Losing My Mind
3. Few Against Many
4. The Undying Fire
5. Another Dimension
6. Glorious
7. Edge Of A Dream
8. Destiny
9. Long Gone Tomorrow
10. No Heroes, No Sinners

Added: May 18th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3079
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by